Recipe // Quinoa and Egg Muffins

Hello!

I hope you had a great weekend. Half of ours was spent up in Oklahoma City, which was fun since neither one of us have spent much time there. The wedding was held on the rooftop of a building downtown and then the reception was a short walk down the street. It was great to see some friends we have not seen in a while, and witness the beautiful celebration of the bride and groom. 20150725_184548

Aside from the wedding, we were also able to spend some time with the friends that we stayed with. They took us to their church called Frontline and then we had brunch together. I came know them through my oldest sister, so it was neat to get to know them better and spend time with their little guy, Levi. Although Jordan and I like the occasional hotel, we really prefer to stay with people and fellowship with them during our trips.

Today I want to share with you a quick-n-easy, protein-packed breakfast recipe. Quinoa and egg muffins are so nice to have on hand throughout the week, and they also freeze easily. The other thing I like about this recipe, is that it can be tailored to your liking. So whether you want to add meat, certain spices, different vegetables, or even cheese, you can easily do that. For example this week I decided to throw in a jalapeno since Jordan will be traveling (he has a very low tolerance for spicy foods).

Quinoa and Egg Breakfast Muffins

Ingredients:

-1 1/4 cup cooked quinoa

-1 cup vegetables of your choosing (I used red, yellow, and orange bell peppers + 1/2 jalapeno)

-2 eggs

-4 egg whites

-spices of your choosing (I used 1/2 tsp of the following: salt, pepper, onion powder, and cajun seasoning)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 12-muffin pan

2. Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl

3. Fill muffin tins and cook for 30 minutes

4. Allow to cool and then store in the refrigerator to eat throughout the week (heat for less than 1 minute)

Processed with VSCOcam
Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

I have made these in a variety of ways and have enjoyed them each time, so you really can’t go wrong. In other news, check out this cocktail that Jordan made last night for dinner. I had pinned this recipe several weeks ago and yesterday he was feeling creative so I shared it with them. I am not much of a cocktail girl, unless your are giving me a margarita or bloody mary, but I really enjoyed this blackberry greyhound!Processed with VSCOcam

Have a great day and as always, thank you for reading. If you make this or any other recipes I have posted, let me know how they turn out!

Abby Dawn

Leave a Reply

