Grays and Torreys

During our trip to Denver this past weekend, we did some serious hiking. Although we did summit both Grays and Torreys in one day, I have to admit that it was much harder than I anticipated it being. I am no stranger to hiking, but hiking two 14ers back-to-back was the second most physically challenging exercise I have ever done. The first being the mile swim I completed during a team triathlon that my family did a few years ago.

“Hiking a 14er is harder than the half marathon I recently ran, but you will be fine” said our friend Lili who made the trek with me, alongside our husbands. I thought to myself, oh that is just great considering the longest race I have ever ran was a very non-competitive, not-for-time 5K. Nervous and not exactly sure what to expect, I laced up the hiking boots we had purchased literally 12 hours prior to our flight to Colorado and hoped that they would break in quickly. I am happy to report that those boots saved my feet and were absolutely amazing the entire weekend.

photo via 14ers.com
photo via 14ers.com

Ascending up the first peak {Grays} took us approximately 3 hours and the most difficult part for me was adjusting to the altitude. Within 10 minutes of the hike, it felt like somebody was standing on my chest while I was trying to take deep breaths. Thankfully my body adjusted and settled in once I figured out how to breathe better. As far as my legs went, they were feeling pretty fresh and strong during that first climb. We took breaks when needed, each consumed a couple protein bars, and chugged water while climbing. Approaching the summit was such a rush and the views were absolutely incredible. 20150702_181413 20150702_181416 20150702_191503 20150703_083142 20150703_08481111403386_3681527727290_1599583360436553291_n

10483138_10101344908460100_7914677883920015143_n

After resting our legs, eating turkey sandwiches, and snapping a few photos with the sign, we began making our way down the ridge towards Torreys. It was at this point where climbers can choose to head back down or continue onto climbing Torreys. We decided that we would be kicking ourselves if we were right there and choose not to make the climb, so onward we went. This hike was much harder on my legs since I was so fatigued, but thankfully it was quicker than Grays.

There were definitely a few times that I contemplated turning around and making the descent back down. It completely became a mental game with myself to push through and I am so glad I have had experience in situations of fatigue, because my body was saying stop but my mind was saying finish what I started. Having the support of each other along the way was invaluable and to complete it together was such a fun memory. 20150702_193359 20150702_193454 20150703_121417

The climb back down to the truck took about 2.5 hours and we all immediately took the boots off. I will say that my head was hurting pretty badly at this point after going from 5,000 to 10,000 to 14,000 feet and back down again in one day. Lots of water, some ibuprofen, and a hot shower made all the difference in the world. I hope to climb more one day but in the mean time, I’ll be looking for hiking spots in Dallas. Just kidding, it’s flat as a pancake around these parts.

If you ever have the opportunity to climb a 14er, I highly encourage you to take on the challenge. It is such a rewarding feeling getting to that highest peak and overlooking the breathtaking views. Colorado, you are gorgeous and I miss you already.

Have a great Wednesday, friends!

Abby Dawn

 

2 thoughts on “Grays and Torreys

  1. I love everything about this post (especially all of the memories)! Great pictures of all of the mountain views… so beautiful. Ps. The diagram of Grays to Torreys makes me tiered just by looking at it. Haha 🙂 Miss you guys already.

    1. I am having serious withdrawals from CO, the mountains, and you two! I hope you have had a great week & safe travels out to the east coast — have a blast!!

Leave a Reply

