Hospitality // How To Make An Apartment Homey

I remember having friends over to my house growing up and  how many of them would leave saying “your house is so homey, so comfortable to be in.” At the time I would just thank them and move on, not thinking much about it. But now looking back and after moving out of my parents home, I have realized that it truly is very homey. A beautiful dwelling place filled with such peace and comfort.

“The art of hospitality is about creating space for someone to feel seen and heard and loved. It’s about declaring your table a safe zone, a place of warmth and nourishment.” ~Bread & Wine by Shauna Niequest

Before having my own place, I would think about how I so badly wanted my home to be a place that people enjoyed being in. A home that welcomes imperfect and authentic people who love to eat, laugh, and drink good wine. When we got married a year and a half ago, we knew that we would not be able to afford a home immediately. So apartment living it was, and I made it my goal to make that cozy space with white walls as homey as possible. Here’s how…

Untitled

Hosting friends overnight, for dinner, or even just for dessert brings such joy to our hearts. Although I find myself at times frustrated by our older appliances, small space, and inability to have a grill, I have learned that it isn’t necessarily the size of your home that makes it homey, but rather the people and utilization of the space you are given. Plus, smaller space means less to clean for me!

I meant to snap a few photos from dinner at our place last night since we had friends over, but in-between prepping dinner, the World Cup game (USA wins & how about that head collision?!), and catching up with them (they live in Moscow), I forgot to get my camera out. We were so thankful to spend time with them!

We are Denver-bound tomorrow morning to spend the holiday weekend with our friends Tim and Lili, but I still plan to post Friday. Have a great Wendesday!

Can't wait to see these two. Throwback from 2012 in Columbia!
Can’t wait to see these two. Throwback from 2012 in Columbia!

Abby Dawn

Leave a Reply

