Recipe // Peanut Butter Protein Bars

Hi, I hope you had a wonderful weekend. Mine was a good mix of relaxing and productive. When Jordan returned from his bachelor party yesterday afternoon we were able to see some friends who we haven’t seen in a while which was so much fun!

So we eat a lot of granola/protein bars around here and after trying several store-bought kinds (Cliff, Lara, and Kind), I find that they are either too sweet, too hard or crunchy, or very expensive. Jordan prefers something a bit lighter since he eats them in the mornings before working out, whereas I need mine to be more filling since I eat them as a mid-afternoon snack that needs to tide me over through working out after work. So for him, his bar of choice these days are Kind bars and although I do not mind the taste, they irritate my jaw since they are so hard. Does anyone else feel that way?

Anytime we are over at my in-laws, they always have a stash of homemade protein bars in the fridge and after trying my mother-in-law’s recipe, I had to get it for myself. I have tweaked it a little bit, but for the most part I stick to the recipe. The main change that I did this time was to include 1/4 cup chia seeds and halved the protein powder portion.  However, I am going to give you the recipe she gave me because it can easily be changed to your liking. I like it because it is easy, adaptable, extremely filling (my friend eats one for lunch sometimes and it fills her up), and delicious.

Ingredients:

2 cups uncooked oatmeal
1 cup flax seed
1 cup protein powder
1 cup natural peanut butter {or any nut butter}
1/2 cup honey
1 cup craisins
1 cup coconut
1 cup bittersweet chocolate chips

Directions:

Stir all ingredients together in a large mixing bowl until well combined.  Add more peanut butter or honey if needed to bind all ingredients together.  Pour out into an ungreased 9×13 pan and press down to spread evenly. I spray a large ziploc bag with coconut oil and use that to press all of the ingredients into the pan.  Refrigerate until firm, then cut into square or rectangle bars.

20150626_184020 20150626_184101 20150626_18463320150626_18490720150626_202405

Enjoy and I will see y’all Wednesday!

 Abby Dawn

Leave a Reply

