Venezia, Day 1

mitaly

After a 10 hour, primarily sleepless flight from Atlanta to Milan, it was time to begin our adventure and hit the ground running. We arrived in Milan around 9:30 am, took a 45-minute bus ride from the airport to the train station, and then boarded the train for a 2 hour ride from Milan to Venice. Although I was extremely sleep deprived and a little out of it, the newness of everything kept me alert and excited. We reached our final {for that day at least} destination of Venice around 2:00 PM, grabbed our luggage off the train, and walked 10 minutes to the place we were staying. For most of the trip, we used either Airbnb or booking.com and besides the bed bugs in one room {more on that in another post}, the rooms were great and the hospitality was wonderful.

The bed and breakfast we were staying in was a quick bus ride away from the main action of Venice, so after meeting our host and quickly freshening up, we headed over to the city center. While preparing for our trip, I had seen lots of pictures of Venice and almost every single one was the same. Colorful buildings on either side of the canal with men wearing striped shirts steering gondolas down the water. Seriously, Google it. But that is exactly what Venice is and it might be one of the dreamiest places we visited. You so easily get lost in the unique architecture, art, the most adorable boats, and overpriced cafes everywhere. We only had 8 hours in Venice so we made sure to maximize our time.

We had heard about the the island called Murano which is most famous for its glass-making, so we decided to take a water ferry over there. FYI-the glass makers stop working at 4:30 so if you want to see them make the glass, you must go before then. We arrived around 4:50, so unfortunately we missed all of the action. I can imagine it is pretty cool though because the glass we saw in the shops was extremely beautiful. After we had seen all there was to see in Murano, we hopped back onto the boat and went back to the main Island to continue exploring. I am very thankful Jordan had been to Venice because I for sure would have gotten lost in those windy streets which all look slightly similar.

A couple hours into our exploration, it started to rain pretty heavily. My mother-in-law had given me a mini umbrella to take with me, which I did, however I never actually took it out of my suitcase. Next time I will be sure to do that, because we were pretty soaked. Life goes on though and we still had a full night ahead of us! We checked out lots of bridges, the Grand Canal, Piazza San Marco, and other places that I can’t remember the name of. Followed that with some dinner and of course, gelato. It was short and sweet, but in all honesty, I think a day or two in Venice is sufficient. It is so charming, so if you have the chance, I suggest visiting at some point.

20140603_071351 20140603_083523 20140603_083805 20140603_083831_5_bestshot 20140603_084025_5_bestshot 20140603_084351 20140603_084416 20140603_090218 20140603_090229 20140603_173757 20140603_174822 20140603_194822 20140603_205919

After Venice, it was off to Rome for four days but more on that to come in later posts. Early tomorrow morning I will be flying back to the Midwest to see my family! It has been 6 months since I have been home to Iowa, so I am super excited to see everyone. Not only that, but I get to meet my new nephew, Beau. From the pictures I have seen, he is quite the looker.

Hope you have a great rest of your week  and weekend!

Abby Dawn

One thought on “Venezia, Day 1

Leave a Reply

