Toothbrushes in Toilets

“Babe, where is your toothbrush?” My husband says to me as he walks into the bedroom of the place we were staying in Rome.

“Over on the dresser next to the toothpaste, why are you asking?” I reply groggily as all I want to do is sleep.

“No it isn’t, it is in the toilet. You threw it in the toilet.” He says trying to hold back the laughter.

“I would NOT do that, it was obviously somebody else. I just want to go to sleep.” I say as I turn over and release a sigh of annoyance/denial/embarrassment.

That my friends, is jet lag at its finest. I mean who throws their toothbrush into the toilet? Those two things just do not go together. But what I have learned after taking my first real international trip{does Mexico count when it borders Texas?} is that weird things can happen when you are jet lagged. Don’t worry though, I made sure to buy a new one for an outrageous 4 euros. And it wasn’t even fancy.

Anyway, it is back to reality as we have returned from our 10-day trip to Italy. I do not even know where to begin, I have so much to write about! It truly is an eye-opening experience traveling to a different country. I am sure it will take me a few days to reflect and process through everything we did and everywhere we went. Jordan kept us moving. Moving so fast that I was sweating most days, had sore calves, and had to pack cliff bars because the man doesn’t stop to eat lunch. His mom warned me and I think her and I both get a bit hangry {when hungry & angry collide} when we need food. Next time I will be sure to bring more snacks so that I can endure the hours of walking a bit easier.

In a nutshell, our trip looked a little bit like this: Dallas – Atlanta – Milan – Venice – Rome – Positano – Capri – Tuscany/Chianti region – Florence – Milan – Atlanta – Dallas – my bed for 12 hours. It was pretty nonstop but I have to say, he did an incredible job of planning everything and I can thankfully say we did not miss any planes, trains, boats, or buses. Although I could have spent another few weeks exploring all of Europe’s beauty, it was the perfect amount of time in each city. I have definitely caught the travel bug and cannot wait for many more international trips.

I plan to write about each city and give a break down of the places we visited, as well as lots of photos from those locations. For now, I will leave you with a glance into our vacation.
20140603_090225 20140603_090312 20140604_081030 20140605_050228 20140606_044050 20140607_015948 20140608_060716 20140610_012911 20140610_015245 20140610_070503 20140612_012139 20140612_101118 20140613_042112

I hope your summer is off to a wonderful start! Make sure to keep those toothbrushes in their respective holders 😉

Abby Dawn

 

4 thoughts on “Toothbrushes in Toilets

Leave a Reply

