She Shares Truth: Psalm 38

Today I am linking up with She Reads Truth, an amazing community of women who write daily devotionals for their readers {such as myself} to study God’s word. For their current season of Lent, they have decided to allow any of us the opportunity to write about whichever passage they chose for that particular week. Since I missed out on the opportunity last Friday, I have decided today was a good time to start. The passage for this week is Psalm 38.

Do me a favor and read through it once. Try your best not to feel depressed. Monday was the first day I read through this Chapter and I decided that was enough for one day. I needed to process what David was saying and give it some time to settle. In the meantime, I did a little research on the logistics of the passage, rather than the words themselves. Obviously I learned that this was a Psalm of David, but I also learned that this was considered a penitential psalm; in other words, an expression of sorrow from sins. Perfectly fitting for a season of lent.

Lent is a time of fasting, reflecting on the Cross, repentance, and confession. It is a beautiful time to prepare for Jesus’ resurrection and to fully comprehend that He, a sinless and perfect man, died for us. Without spending time fasting on His Word and understanding that we are nothing without Him, Easter would just be another Holiday. One filled with candy, pastel-colored spring clothing, and a big brunch with family.

 My guilt has overwhelmed me, like a burden too heavy to bear. {verse 4}

The first few verses of Chapter 38 evoke such pain and we can just feel David’s fear of God punishing him. His sin has brought upon him an overwhelming sense of guilt. Guilt is one of those things that can be our best friend or our worst enemy. What we do with feelings of guilt can either drive us away from God in fear of his wrath or lead us back to Him. I personally am thankful for guilt because it keeps me in check. As a believer, sin can come in the form of guilt. It means I did or am doing something that conflicts with what I know is appropriate behavior. Appropriate in God’s eyes, NOT the worlds.

My back is filled with searing pain; there is no health in my body. {verse 7}

Have you ever felt so guilty that it literally manifested itself into physical pain? Aching of the heart, restless nights, stomach aches, or shortness of breath. I know I have and although it is the most sickening feeling in the world, it always brought to surface the sin and by bringing it to light, I could work through that. Again, I am thankful for physical indications of sin in my heart. Just like us, David was literally mourning and he felt as though he had absolutely no health left in his body.

I am like the deaf, who cannot hear, like the mute, who cannot speak. {verse 13}

This verse is what I believe to be, David’s way of quite impressively reacting to the haters. Those people who avoid him because of his wounds and those who set their traps for him to die. David just takes it. Not only is he humbly confessing of his sin and wreckage, but he then takes severe ridicule, threats, and persecution and reacts exactly like the Lord would react. He blocked out the persecutors, he kept his mouth shut, and he patiently waited on the Lord. As with all of us at one time or another; he was broken, worn down, and helpless.

I confess my iniquity; I am troubled by my sin. {verse 18}

Until we come to a place in our lives where we can no longer carry the weight of our sins and until we come to Him with absolute humility, we will never comprehend the idea of salvation. Without the Holy Spirit and its not-so-subtle way of showing my heart my sinful nature, I would go through this life with no moral compass so to speak. Guilt does not come from God. Guilt comes from us living in a broken world and as believers, it comes in the form of sin. Sin is not one of those things you can just brush under the rug. It always shows up in one way or another, and does not go away until we come to terms with it. Until we acknowledge that we are sinful, confess of those sins, and continually make steps to avoid relapse, they will just begin manifesting in physical ways. Jesus desires for us to serve Him with a clear conscious.

Come quickly to help me, my Lord and my savior. {verse 22}

Simply put, we need Him, we need to acknowledge the work on the cross, and we need to strive every single day to live with humility. I love the lyrics in one of Bebo Norman’s songs that goes “Take my body and build it up. May it be broken as an offering of love. For I have nothing, I have nothing without You.” I could not have said it better. I am thankful I had the opportunity to dissect David’s words in Psalm 38 and I hope to continually strive to comprehend the power of Lent season.

IMG_20140126_140804Have a great weekend!

Abby Dawn

One thought on “She Shares Truth: Psalm 38

Leave a Reply

