Bearable vs. Beautiful

I think I am turning a corner, I can feel it. The coughing has minimized, Jordan is back to sleeping in our bed after a few nights in the guest bedroom, my energy level is close to normal, and overall I am beginning to feel more like myself. With the tail-end of any cold, comes the less-than-attractive use of nasal spray, clearing of the mucus (TMI?), and of course constantly blowing my nose. Don’t worry though, it is all coming out nicely and I actually think Jordan liked having the entire bed to himself again. Sorry I sleep diagonally and move around A LOT, but the guest room is for our guests.

I read this last night right before going to sleep and haven’t stopped thinking about it since. Obviously it was something I needed at that moment.

If Jesus gives us a task or assigns us to a difficult season, every ounce of our experience is meant for our instruction and completion if only we’ll let Him finish the work. I fear, however, that we are so attention-deficit that we settle for bearable when beauty is just around the corner. -Beth Moore

We all know that Beth Moore is a brilliant lady, but I personally found this specific statement to be very profound. To help myself better dig into this, I decided to look up the definitions. Bearable means capable of being endured or tolerated and beauty means the quality present in a thing or person that gives intense pleasure or deep satisfaction to the mind {good ole’ dictionary.com}. Based on these definitions, how in the world would I be able to find beauty in a job, situation, person, or even myself when I am merely tolerating or putting up with something? They are conflicting words when you really think about it. And yes, even though I have not clinically been diagnosed with an Attention-deficit disorder, at times, I most definitely lack the ability to give attention towards or notice the amazing things that God is doing in and around me.

Why? Well because sometimes it is a lot easier to pity myself or notice all the little annoyances in a workplace or situation. In my flesh, I enjoy that sympathy or for others to feel sorry for me, but my spirit feels empty. Just look around your workplace for example. How many people are just going through the motions and settling for bearable? That attitude is the norm and it can really wear on me. I find myself falling into that trap of complaining or noticing the negativity, rather than waking up with an attitude of pure thankfulness for all the beauty surrounding me. Or, even if life just really isn’t pleasurable to you right now, that perspective completely inhibits the ability to see satisfaction.

I find myself feeling like I am not doing enough to advance the Kingdom or making an impact the way I know I am capable of. But then I have also been realizing that I haven’t been looking for the beauty surrounding me. There is beauty in every student I meet with who has overcome extreme adversity through their disability and there is beauty in the personalities of the few people I do work with. It is just a matter of me getting over myself so to speak and noticing how blessed I am.

Sure, something more beautiful may be around the corner and of course things always seem greener on the other side, but those are serious blinders to the current beauty surrounding me. Situations are not going to change through our complaining, so we might as well be positive and enjoyable to be around. After all, smiles and positivity in the work place are absolutely contagious. I have learned the importance of speaking up when I am given the opportunity, taking advantage of professional development opportunities, and simply speaking in love towards others. I have also learned that the more I am in the Word, the more easily this comes. It is a daily challenge so feel free to hold me accountable, even if it is just a text or email throughout the day.

On a completely separate note, I wanted to give you an update on my February challenge of abstaining from coffee shops because I was spending way too much money on mid-day lattes or post morning workout americanos. So far our coffee budget is at $0! I am yet to step foot into a coffee shop this month and the only tiny cheat I had was purchasing a black coffee at Central Market while getting a few other things. Does that count? It really hasn’t been too difficult and it has given me the opportunity to use our french press more which is delicious. Below is the iced coffee that my boss brought yesterday which absolutely made my day considering I haven’t had one of these babies in a while. Thanks KT!

20140218_092534

Thanks so much for reading! I am thankful for you & am sending my love your way. Let’s all try harder to bury the bearable with the beauty.

Abby Dawn

Leave a Reply

