Coconut Chocolate Chip Bars

Good morning! How are you doing? I hope you had a nice weekend and feel ready to take on another week.

I decided it would be a good idea to start tracking Jordan’s flight around 10:00 pm last night. It was so cool to be able to see how far into the flight they were, how high they were traveling, speed, etc. The only problem with that, was I could not sleep well until I knew he had landed. So at midnight and again at 2 am, I checked the status. I would not recommend that to anyone, unless you want to be extremely tired the next day. But thankfully he did have a safe 15-hour flight and arrived to the hotel in Suwon, South Korea around 4 am my time, which was Monday evening in Korea. We were able to text a bit when I woke up at 6 and before he went to sleep which was a great way to start the day.  IMG_20140202_080525

I typically don’t mind when he goes out of time because I can keep myself busy fairly easily and I need “me time” to feel rejuvenated pretty much daily. I have learned however that too much of that me time while he is gone for 6 days isn’t necessarily a good thing, because by the third day I get lonely. So this time around I made sure to fill almost every evening with dinner plans to make the week go by quickly. AND also to put off going to the grocery store a few more days :).

Whenever I have free time I like to fill it with one or a few of the following activities: baking, exercising, reading, writing, organizing, or going to Target (which by the way, I recommend going during the fourth quarter of the Super Bowl, no crowds baby!). I did all of those things yesterday after Jordan left for the airport and it was a pretty great Sunday. My in-laws invited me over for the Super Bowl so I went over there which was fun. They are such a blessing to me and I am so thankful that I feel comfortable enough to go over there by myself. The game was lame, but the company was great.

I wanted to share the recipe I made with you in case you are looking for a slight variation to your usual chocolate chip cookies. I adapted this recipe from All Recipes but changed a few of the ingredients and was pleased with how it turned out. Plus it was SO quick and easy. The only problem is now I have a pan of bars at home to eat all by myself. I think I will manage just fine though! Oh, and this is by no means healthy in any way, shape, or form. Just wanted to put that out there before I begin.

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

Coconut Chocolate Chip Bar Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt (1/2 teaspoon if your butter is salted)
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract (omit if you do not like almond flavor)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
  • 2/3 cup butter
  • 2 cups packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 cup shredded coconut

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees & grease a 9 x 13 inch baking pan.
  2. In a large bowl, cream the butter, brown sugar, eggs, almond, and vanilla extract.
  3. Slowly blend in flour, baking powder, and salt. Mix until blended.
  4. Fold in chocolate chips, walnuts, and coconut.
  5. Test out the dough to make sure everything tastes okay.
  6. Spread evenly in pan and bake until a toothpick or knife comes out clean (25 or so minutes)
  7. Let cool before cutting into bars
  8. Enjoy!

Update on our Intentionally Focused Challenge: I have not purchased a coffee or latte from any establishment so far, and have started to get a little more creative at home by getting some flavored coffee/creamer to deviate from the usual black coffee. Also, I brought some K-cups from home to make at the office in case I need a little pick-me-up. Usually I would just walk to the Starbucks in the Student Union and grab a coffee, but not this month! It really isn’t too challenging which is good and I am really excited that we will save money this month by cutting out coffee shops.

PicMonkey CollageHave a great Monday!

Abby Dawn

Leave a Reply

