Glazed Almond Poppy Seed Muffins

So a dear friend of mine makes the most amazing Almond Poppy Seed bread. It is impossible to only have one bite, and the one time I made her recipe, it went fast around these parts. Although I wanted to keep both loaves for us here, I decided to send some to work with Jordan, and apparently it was a hit! Not only is the bread itself delicious, but the fresh orange and almond glaze on top seals the deal. I could probably just eat the top off and be completed satisfied. Anyway, Ramona, you are the inspiration for the recipe I adapted from The View From Great Island blog {no idea who she is, I just found it online}.

Although the almond and poppy seed ingredients are the same as Ramona uses, I decided to try mine with Greek yogurt, almond milk, and a different glaze since we didn’t have any oranges. These muffins aren’t too heavy at all, and for a lightened up version, I thought they were pretty tasty. However, if you dislike either poppy seeds or almond-flavoring, you will greatly dislike these.

WHAT YOU NEED:

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • heaping 1/4 cup poppy seeds
  • 1 1/2 cups plain yogurt or Greek Yogurt (could use sour cream also)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp almond extract (I used a bit more)
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled
  • 1/2 -3/4 cup almond or regular milk (all I had was almond) *She did not have this in her recipe, but I had to add milk in order to get the right consistency.

FOR THE GLAZE:

  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • milk to thin

WHAT YOU DO:

  1. Set your oven to 375 degrees F
  2. Whisk together the dry ingredients {flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and poppy seeds in case you are confused which are dry} until the mixture is lump-free.
  3. Whisk the eggs and yogurt together until blended well. Stir in the melted mutter and almond extract.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients. Enter my consistency issues as you will see in the photos below. This is when I decided to add some almond milk because clearly that looked more like cookie batter than muffin batter.
  5. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to combine about 3/4 cup almond milk with the rest of the ingredients until well mixed.
  6. Fill muffin cups with batter. I used regular muffin liners for mine, but you could probably do without.
  7. After I filled my large muffin tin {makes 12 muffins} I had plenty of extra batter, which I just dumped into a loaf pan.
  8. Bake for about 25 minutes or until golden around the edges and free of wet batter when you stick a toothpick in the middle of one of them. You know the drill…
  9. Cool slightly on a rack before glazing.
  10. To make the glaze you just mix the sugar, almond extract, and keep adding milk until it is smooth and glossy. Drizzle or generously spread glaze on top of the muffins and/or loaf pan.
  11. Let cool as long as you can before digging into one!

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

I hope you have a wonderful weekend! It is back to work for this girl on Monday, so I am off to do some organizing, meal planning, and make a trip to Costco with Jordan when he gets home.

Abby Dawn

Leave a Reply

