2014 Already?

Happy New Year! When I wrote 1/1/2014 in my journal this morning it felt really weird. It was sort of like when I sign my name “Abby Mohawley” because, of course, habitually I begin writing Morris but then quickly remember that I no longer bear that name. The oddest part about it all, is that both a new year and a new last name have a great deal of significance tied to them. Yet, remembering to write them them does not come quickly.

A new year means a fresh start. It means if you had a really difficult, depressing, or just not-your-best 2013, it is a tangible symbol of new beginnings. It is an opportunity to refocus your energy, create new goals/resolutions (whichever you call them), and truly aim for a better 2014. Sure, it is just another night of sleep, another night of celebrating with friends, and another toast of cocktails. But for so many people, it is a sigh of relief.

2013 was hands down my favorite year lived thus far. It was also one of the busiest years I have had. Graduating with my Master’s degree, getting engaged, planning a wedding, and then getting married all created amazing memories and brought such joy to my heart. Looking back at all of the pictures, hearing stories of the wedding from different people’s perspectives, and discussing that entire weekend with Jordan has been incredible.

After literally a year of ups and highs, I was a little worried and actually have had people ask me if now is just a let down compared to all of that. Although I think that “low” may eventually begin to trickle in since we have been consumed with Holiday festivities, friends, and family gatherings, so far it hasn’t. In fact, I am loving the quiet right now. I am enjoying not being overwhelmed with the details of our wedding. I am enjoying having the evenings to just spend time with Jordan. The entire 6-months I just wanted to be married already, and now that we are, there are no disappointments, only pure love & joy to call him my husband.

Sure, we are still figuring out how this whole married and living together thing works out. I still sleep diagonally in the bed and he still leaves his empty box of contacts on the bathroom counter every morning. I am still really bad at watching TV and movies, but we have compromised by me sitting near him, just doing something else I enjoy. Working out is much more difficult now that I just want to get home to make him dinner, but balancing everything will come with time. It is a blast and doing life with my best bud is my favorite thing ever.

A strong desire of mine is to write regularly, and it has been since I started the blog. Unfortunately, the wedding took precedence in my spare time during 2013, and I just didn’t think I would be able to do both well. So I chose the wedding planning over the blog. No regrets with that of course, because it is a once in a lifetime event. With that being said, I am no longer planning a wedding, and besides a trip to Europe this year (more on that later), I am really not planning anything. Which means, I will have more time to write.

In an effort to avoid losing credibility by telling you exactly how much I will blog per week, I will just say I plan to get back to writing. I have missed it, and absolutely love doing it. I often crave a journal and pen to just let my thoughts go. In fact, when that craving/creativity is not present, I get worried. The current book I am reading, A Million Little Ways by Emily Freeman says,Β β€œI don’t believe there is one great thing I was made to do in this world. I believe there is one great God I was made to glorify. And there will be many ways, even a million little ways, I will declare his glory with my life.” We were created by the ultimate artist, therefore we are all artists. Writing is just one little way I can glorify Him with my life.

The world doesn’t necessarily need another blog, but what it could use is some love. Whether I get 5 or 500 blog views is irrelevant in the grand scheme of things. Being created by the hands of our ultimate creator leaves me no choice but to use my creativity to hopefully inspire somebody else. I read this earlier and loved it: “Every day that your heart is beating is a day to live your calling as a daughter of the King!” I am so grateful that he chose me to serve Him and others in this crazy world.

Many blessings from me to you in this new year!

Peace & quiet is my favorite.
Peace & quiet is my favorite.

Abby Dawn Hawley (has a nice ring to it huh?) πŸ™‚

PS. Like the fresh new layout? Those flowers are my wedding bouquet!

Leave a Reply

