Ice Day Craft

Hello and the happiest of Friday wishes to you! I hope you are staying much warmer than we are down here in Dallas. When I first heard that we were under a “winter storm watch,” I was selfishly anxious to see how bad it was really going to be. Being from the Midwest and having lived in the Minnesota aka the frozen tundra for four years, I have seen some intense snow storms. Well, to my surprise it is actually pretty bad here. Temperatures dropped like crazy {it was 79 on Wednesday}, and precipitation came down heavily. So just like us, most Dallas people are staying safe at home today.

For me and since I can’t work from home without access to things at the office, it was time to get our place and all of our stuff organized. After several hours of that, I decided it was craft time and I knew exactly what I wanted my main materials to be, I just wasn’t quite sure what I was going to do with them.

For our guest book at the wedding, I deviated from the traditional book, and decided to have our guests sign a note on torn out hymnal pages from an old book my dad had. I wasn’t exactly sure how this would turn out, if the words would show up, or even if people would take it seriously. My hesitations were proven wrong, and I was absolutely blown away by everyone’s sweet messages to us. I actually took the pile of pages on the honeymoon with us to read on the plane. One of the best flights I have had to say the least. My heart was so filled up with love.

I was originally going to {and still may} take the pages and make a fan-type thing for a wall decoration. Something like this:

1bf51c2914bb717b01afd55e52af0af7

But then I quickly remembered that I don’t own a hot glue gun so that craft was not going to happen today. So I looked around and found a Pottery Barn frame that I had purchased originally intending to put a wedding photo in there. With the amount of picture frames we have been given and own, I decided that I would use this one for something else, plus it has a burlap backing, which I thought would be perfect with the hymnal pages. Below are photos of the project I did. Enjoy!

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

I am very pleased with how it turned out and it only took about 30 minutes which is an added bonus! It has been so fun decorating our first place together. We are limited with space and still have a lot to do, but it is getting there. Here are a few pictures of what I have done so far.

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSCI hope you have an awesome weekend! I should probably shower today and then get ready to make dinner for our friends Spencer and Megan.

Abby Dawn

Leave a Reply

