Beachside Bloggin’

Hola!

Where to begin. It has been such a long time since I have written a blog post. Sure, there have been plenty of topics to talk about and a plethora of pictures to share. I guess I just felt like any down time I had, I should devote to something wedding-related. I have missed it though. I miss that non-biased outlet. I miss curling up on the couch, grabbing a cup of coffee, and pouring my heart out to you.

Well today, I am cuddled up, but this time the scenery is a bit different. This time I am in Riviera Maya, Mexico sitting in our beach bungalow, looking out onto the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. This time I am drinking a margarita on the rocks, with salt (of course). This time I am a Mrs!

Before becoming a Mrs., I imagined that things would feel so different. I had no idea what exactly the ring band and title would change from a feelings-standpoint(of course it changes the fact that I am committed to one man for my time here on Earth) but really, Jordan and I keep looking at each other and saying “we are married, this is awesome” but it hasn’t hit us yet.

Ever since we met, we have loved just hanging out as friends do. We love exploring new places together, going out on dates, meeting new people, and serving each other. Sure, we are now able to explore each other in new ways (no explanation needed) and sleep in the same bed, but other than that, it feels pretty normal. I respect Him like I always have and strive to continuously serve and encourage him.

The other day, Jord and I were talking about the “continuous cycle.” For those of you who have read the book Love and Respect, you know which cycle I am talking about. This cycle so often leads to disrespect, anger, and bitterness. When done right however, it is the most beautiful thing for a marriage, or any relationship for that matter. When I show him respect, he so easily loves and serves me. In turn, when I feel adored, cared for, and loved, I can’t help but want to show him my respect. For him, he feels respected by the smallest acts of service. For example, the other day we were setting up lounge chairs by the pool and I held his towel up for him while he was rearranging everything because it was extremely windy. Apparently the fact that I noticed to help him, meant the world to him. I just didn’t want his towel to blow away.

It is so easy right now, in this all-inclusive, stunning resort to want to love and respect each other. We know it will only get tougher once we get back to Dallas tomorrow and return to work, but at that point we are going to let the vows we wrote to each other be our instruction manual for this whole marriage thing. For my wedding gift, J had our vows blown up and printed for us to frame in our house. I loved the creativity and more importantly, the value in those. Below you will see the things which we value in a marriage. Our wedding day was incredible and I can’t wait to write about it and share it with all of you at some point. We are beyond thankful for every single person who made the trip to FREEZING Des Moines. It was just perfect.

Jordan’s vows to me:

I Jordan choose you Abby to be my wife, my best friend, my confidant, my encourager, and my lover.

I vow to build you up and encourage you in the best ways I know how.

I vow to laugh with you, cry with you, and lift you up on your darkest days.

I vow to have the patience that love demands, to lead you through prayer and to seek Christ in the leadership of our family,

I vow to be a spiritual leader in our home and to pursue Christ with my whole heart in pursuit of holiness.

I vow to serve you even when I don’t feel like it.

I vow to love you passionately, show transparency always, and pray with you continually.

For better for worse, for richer or poorer, and in sickness and health.

To love and to cherish all the days of my life.

My vows to Jordan:

I Abby Morris choose you Jordan Hawley to be my husband, my best-friend, my confidant, my earthly spiritual leader, and my lover.

I vow to inspire and encourage you in your dreams.

I vow to be fully devoted to you through the insecurities in life.

I vow to laugh with you, cry with you, and lift you up on your darkest days.

I vow to have the patience that love demands, to speak when words are needed, and to respect your decisions.

I vow to pursue Christ with my whole heart in pursuit of holiness.

I vow to serve you even when I don’t feel like it.

I vow to love you passionately, show transparency always, and pray with you continually.

For better or for worse, for richer or poorer, and in sickness and in health.

To love and to cherish all the days of my life.

The concept of forever is crazy when you really think about it. It’s Jordan & I together forever. I can’t wait to serve each other and others. My heart is so full right now. I hope you all had a very blessed Thanksgiving. I cannot believe that Christmas is right around the corner. Although I am sad that today is our last day of vacation, I am excited to get back into a routine, and to set up our first place together.

Sending my love from Mexico. Have a relaxing weekend!

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC 1467314_10201072598759216_1532028891_n

Abby Hawley 🙂

PS. When I asked Jordan to summarize marriage in one sentence this is what he said “It is stinkin’ awesome.” Couldn’t agree more my love. 1 week down, so many to go.

Leave a Reply

