Aunt Abby

Hi! Today’s post is devoted to my sweet nieces and nephew, as well as what being an aunt means to me. In honor of my oldest niece’s 4th birthday being right around the corner, I took some time to reflect on what the role of an aunt looks like to me. I distinctly remember learning about the birth of Claire while I was playing softball in Minnesota. I remember a mix of emotions between pure excitement to meet this precious baby girl and then such sadness for being far from home. Those feelings are still very much present in my heart today as I am 4.5 hours away from all four little ones.

Being an aunt is one of the biggest blessings in my life so far. Anytime I see my sister’s number calling me, I hope that Claire or Norah are not taking their naps so that I will be able to hear their voices. Every time I talk to them, they have learned new words, understand what proper communication looks like, and leave me feeling filled up with such joy and love for them.  A day doesn’t go by where I do not miss or think about them.

Claire Bella is very much an oldest child. She is mature, responsible, nurturing, a care-taker to her sisters, expressive, creative, very receptive & observant to those around her, cautious, and the most loving little person I have ever met. She is incredibly intelligent and has a desire to learn which I love. She is my first niece and we will always share that special bond. Plus, she shares my affinity for Starbuck’s Petite Vanilla Bean Scones.

Norah Grace is a bundle of energy! Any time I see her she is trying new things, running around the place, and very much enjoys being adventurous. The way she looks up to Claire, her big sister, is endearing and adorable. But at the same time, she is a leader and will hold her own on the playground someday. Norah’s vocabulary is incredible for a 2-year old and her little voice is probably the cutest thing I have ever heard.

Olivia Joy is just that, an absolute joy to be around. She reminds me a little bit of myself, in which we are both the youngest children who are extremely even-keeled and just kinda let everyone else have the stage. We rarely have bad days, and are pretty consistent in nature. I am so excited to see what her personality flourishes into as she gets older.

Charles Riley aka Charlie or Chuck Morris {sorry, had to} is stinking cute. It breaks my heart knowing that I have only been around him a few times because through pictures I see how big he is getting. C is the first child of my brother’s and he sure made a cute boy {good job guys}. Charlie has these dimples that light up a room. I can’t wait until we can play catch together and to see the man he becomes.

Claire Bear

claire bellaclaireclaire3

Norah

norah2 norahnorah3 norah123

Livi

livi1 olvia3 olivia2

Charlie

charlie2 charlie1 charlie4 charlie3

They bring so much joy to my heart!

girls6 girls1 girls7 charliegirls5 girls2 girls3

Claire, Nor, Livi, & Charlie mean the world to me. I have an aunt who played a huge role in my life and is somebody I think extremely highly of and I am thankful to have the opportunity to be the same for them. Someday {Lord-willing} I will have my own kids, but in the mean time, I am going to love on these guys so much. As the saying goes, “Being an aunt means you get to spoil them and then give them right back.” Best of both worlds really. 🙂

If you are an aunt or uncle, make sure you send some love to your loved ones today. Show them how much they mean to you because trust me, you are a major role player in their life.

Have a wonderful Thursday!

Abby Dawn

Leave a Reply

