Nowadays

Today I decided to mix it up a bit, and start a series I am calling “Nowadays” in which I will share with you my current responses for the categories below once a month. I thought it would be fun to give you a little insight into the girl behind the blog & to also do some self-reflection.

Nowadays, I am…

Thanking Jesus for: health as I am overcoming my sinus infection last week, coworkers who were willing to cover for me when I missed half of last Wednesday, and the opportunity for professional development last weekend in Kansas City.

Wearing: Maxi dress and wait for it…. sandals! That’s right, the weather down here has been in the 70’s the past few days and my toes have come out to see the world. Nothing is better than a comfortable maxi dress either. 

Excited about: the next 2 months! During that time I will be finishing up my Master’s, graduate assistant position, going on a trip with the family & Jordan, Lord-willing finding a job, and moving down to Dallas. So many changes are on the horizon and I am nothing but excited for all of it! 

Eating: roasted cauliflower in any form. Last week I did roasted buffalo cauliflower as well as roasting it with some spices & olive oil. I am currently indulging in some sweet tea from McDonald’s which probably has 1 cup of sugar in it, but I am just ignoring that fact and enjoying it. 

Inspired by: my sister Bekah who I just got off the phone with. She is so consistent in her positive attitude and optimism. Having three little girls under the age of 4, she somehow manages to always sound so poised and relaxed, when I know a million things are always going on. She always either answers my calls or returns them right away and I appreciate that so much. 

Praying for: a job and clarity as to when/where to live in Dallas. Staying focused on the present so that I don’t miss out on a single conversation or opportunity that comes my way. 

Listening to: The Spotify station called “90’s SMASH HITS.” Pure awesomeness! Gettin’ Jiggy Wit It is currently jammin’. My office mate sure is in for a treat when she returns. 🙂

Watching: The Voice. Anytime you put the hilarious Blake Shelton and the oh-so-charming Usher in the same proximity paired with extremely talented singers it’s bound to be entertaining. 

Challenged by: my excitement for the next chapter in my life. I am finding it very difficult to remain patient through this last 6 weeks down here as I finish up school and work. 

Experienced for the first time: Les Bourgeois Winery. Jordan surprised me and took me to these Vineyards about 10 miles away which I have been wanting to to go since I moved down here. We arrived right as the sun was setting {he couldn’t have timed it any better} and then had some fabulous chicken {me} and rabbit {his} followed by dessert and of course complimented with red wine. It was such a beautiful evening filled with great conversations. He blesses me everyday!

Time to get a work out in before class tonight! Have a great evening.

Let your light shine!

-Abby Dawn

One thought on “Nowadays

Leave a Reply

