Flourish

Hello beautiful people!

HAPPY SNOW DAY! Snow days have this instant ability to make me feel all giddy inside. I am not sure if is the nostalgia attached to them or having a day off of school & work; but either way, it is always awesome. During K-12, I vividly remember staying up late to watch the little ticker on the bottom of the TV just waiting {for what seemed like hours} to see Johnston Public Schools appear on our screen. Best. Feeling. Ever.

So this little unexpected blessing in the week gives me a chance to do some blogging and tackle a massive take-home exam that I was worried I wouldn’t have adequate time to work on since I am heading home this weekend {can’t wait}. And the best part of all of this, is that everything can be done without changing out of my sweatpants or moving from the living room. Not sure what is better than that!

With my pseudo-birthday being right around the corner {I was born on the 29th of February for those of you who didn’t know}, I thought about writing down goals I want to accomplish or areas of my life I am striving to improve on as a 25-year old. I am still planning to use that topic as my next post later this week, but I wanted a little more time to think about it. So, stay tuned for that one!

Instead today, I have decided to bring you some wisdom from the brilliant Matt Chandler and John Piper. Disclaimer: I highly recommend downloading The Village Church podcast on iTunes and listening to Chandler’s sermons. He is not fluffy, surfacy, or phony. He gives it to you straight and is one of the most authentic pastor’s I have ever heard preach. If I move to Dallas, I would love attending one of his campuses.

Okay so onto what he taught me this morning. Chandler was giving a sermon out of Nehemiah, with an overarching topic of Empathy and Human Flourishing. He was talking about how our environment works in the opposite direction of the direction scripture explains human flourishing. Let me explain.

Human beings are born with two strikes against us. 1. At birth, we are born with this sinful inequity in which we believe we are the center of this universe. We expect others to serve us and make us happy at all times. 2. This Western culture we live in glamorizes radical individualism. So not only do we have this spiritual component emphasizing selfishness, but we are surrounded by this cultural individualism.

Scripture’s message on human flourishing flies in the face of this culture’s beliefs on what constitutes as flourishing. Our preference MUST be secondary to the Will of God. I am not saying that our prosperity is not important, but rather it has to be less important than God’s plan for our lives. It is essential that we primarily pursue our joy, and secondary pursue happiness. Happiness is circumstantial, immediate, and worldly; whereas joy is unshakable and transcends all circumstances. Joy comes through Christ, happiness comes through non-eternal things.

While revisiting Mr. John Piper’s, Don’t Waste Your Life this morning, the following passage stuck out to me.

God created us to live with a single passion to joyfully display his supreme excellence in all the spheres of life. The wasted life is the life without this passion. God calls us to pray and think and dream and plan and work not to be made much of, but to make much of Him in every part of our lives.

The last sentence of that passage, “work not to be made much of, but to make much of Him in every part of our lives” piggy backs on Chandler’s podcast about human flourishing. We are not to live our lives for our own glory or pursuit, but rather in every single thing we do, we are to glorify our Creator. Make much of Him at the workplace, in the classroom, running errands, or during our interactions with those we are in relationships with.

Passion comes from our daily quest to enjoy and display God’s supremacy in all things for the joy of all people. We serve a beautiful, magnificent, and eternal God with whom provides us with unending joy, not circumstantial happiness. I don’t know about you, but I often times feel undeserving us such an incredible promise through salvation. Let’s strive to glorify him & not ourselves as we go about our days.

I hope you all have a blessed week! Stay safe if you are in a snow storm, and instead of complaining about an inability to get around town, embrace the lovely snow and use it as a day to rest, be productive, or whatever you’d like to do!

PicMonkey Collage

Let your light shine!

-Abby Dawn

Leave a Reply

