Who Am I To Complain

“I’m a survivor, I’m not goin’ give up, I’m not goin’ stop, I’m goin’ work harder!’

You better believe I have been listening to the top hits by Beyonce and Destiny’s Child today. Thanks to Spotify, a list was already created for me when I got to work this morning. Hey, anything to get me through a Monday. And how about that halftime show? I was exhausted just watching it.

I hope you all had a great weekend! After leaving the office Friday afternoon, I kicked off my weekend by paying a visit to the doctor’s office. Don’t worry, I am totally fine and actually just scheduled an appointment because I felt like I was due for a check up.

I am not very good at doing my yearly physicals. I guess I have the mentality that I will go see the doctor if something is wrong. So since it has been over 2 years since my last one, and while I am under insurance, I decided now would be the perfect time.

While sitting in the waiting room, I quickly grew impatient and slightly restless. I started to regret my decision to do this, because after all, I felt perfectly normal. It took maybe 5 minutes before I completely changed my entire perspective. I was there because I CHOSE to be there. Not because I was ill, injured, or worse, diagnosed with cancer or another type of disease.

How selfish of me to become annoyed? My temperature, heart beat, blood pressure, and weight were normal. I have a well-functioning immune system which keeps me healthy. I have no idea what it is like to be living with disease. From the physical toll it takes on ones body, to the constant mental battle one must fight just to get through the day.

I am blessed. At that moment, I felt incredibly thankful for my health. I immediately thanked the Lord for His favor on my body and on my health. I know that if at any point I have to be in that doctor’s office, He will take care of me. However, in the present, I am well and it is to Him that I give the praise.

Bless the LORD, O my soul, And forget none of His benefits; Who pardons all your iniquities; Who heals all your diseases; Who redeems your life from the pit; Who crowns you with loving kindness and compassion; Who satisfies your years with good things, So that your youth is renewed like the eagle. ~Psalm 103: 2-5

The rest of my Friday evening consisted of a Hall of Fame dinner and then some line dancing! Both were very enjoyable, and new experiences for me.

They are awesome.
They are awesome.

IMG_2245

Saturday was filled with well, Saturday things. Laundry, cleaning, errand-running, and then topped it off by making sushi!! It was so much fun and  something I will do again  I did the next day. Let me know if you want me to blog about the process, otherwise there are many great websites on how to make your own.

photo (1)

photo (4)

IMG-20130203-00244

photo

IMG-20130202-00232

Success!
Success!

Sunday didn’t disappoint either! Lots of good food and even better company. Started off with church, followed by a “souperbowl” lunch with 3 delicious soup choices,  a quick nap, some more sushi-making, and then Superbowl party! I ate way too much food, won a couple games of ping-pong, and had a great time with fun people.

Another busy week ahead! I hope yours is productive and enjoyable. The forecast looks warmer which makes me very happy. Hoping to get a run in before class tonight.

Let your light shine!

-Abby Dawn

Leave a Reply

