Feeling A Little Green

With envy that is.

Good Afternoon!

I hope you are having a great Thursday. So all week, I have been waking up to the sweetest text messages from Jordan which were sent sometime in the middle of the night. He is about 8 hours ahead of me, so pretty soon here he’ll be going to bed. Sweet dreams my love.

It is such a wonderful way to start my day and fills my heart so full. When I reply to his texts, he is usually halfway through his day, so I ask him to send me some pictures of the places they have visited.

Being a 98% domestic traveler {been to the Caribbean on a cruise once}, I love seeing all of these beautiful places. Although the beaches are breathtaking and architecture looks straight out of a magazine, I haven’t found myself feeling too jealous of his trip yet.

Until this morning that is. Jordan had the privilege of visiting Mars Hill, specifically The Areopagus, where the Apostle Paul gave his renowned sermon to the heathen people of Athens.

I get chills just looking at the photo. I can’t even imagine physically being there and seeing it first hand. He then followed up that picture with this next one which is the actual sermon written on a plaque in Greek.

Unbelievably awesome. These two pictures inspired me to re-read Paul’s sermon in Acts 17:22-31. It has been a while since I read it, so I figured it’d be a great time to do it.

Paul {known as Saul prior to converting to Christianity} was hand-picked by Jesus to become an influential messenger of the Gospel. A changed and humbled servant who embraced the opportunity to spread the Word to spiritually lost and suffering people everywhere. Paul found such joy in speaking about Jesus. [Lesson #1]

Paul mingled with the people of Athens before preaching his Sermon to the large crowd of curious people who gathered before him. I love that he wasn’t “too good” for them, or thought of himself as more important than those civilians. Paul, in fact, considered himself very small in importance compared to others. He felt it was wise approach others in this way. {Lesson #2]

These people were worshipers of false idols. Hmm…pretty sure I have been guilty of this same thing. Okay, so maybe the people in Greece were worshiping mythical Gods, but if I am being honest, I have given more importance or priority to something other than the Lord Jesus Christ and His word. Material possessions, hobbies, or other people for example. Hence the reason for Commandment 1: Thou shalt have no other God’s before me. [Lesson #3]

I love the way Paul speaks such truth, without condemning the people. He was once a broken man who did not believe in Jesus Christ and he approached these individuals in such a loving way. He made them aware of God’s return someday and the importance in repenting & believing prior to judgement day. He did this out of genuine care for them, not for his own glory. [Lesson #4]

Some of the people left that day believers, and others did not. Such is life. We will always encounter those individuals who take the Gospel to heart and turn their lives over to Christ; and then there will be the naysayers who choose to do life on their own. Without the grace, hope, salvation, and unconditional love God gives us. It is those people who we are called to pray for. [Lesson #5]

The Apostle Paul really was the man. I am no longer feeling green, because even though it would have been an incredible experience to see Mars Hill, I am thankful I could read  through Paul’s sermon and share my thoughts with you. So thanks for listening.

Athens, I hope to see you someday. Or anywhere outside of the United States for that matter.

Let’s all try to have a little Paul in us. Have a great weekend everyone.

Let your light shine!

-Abby Dawn

4 thoughts on “Feeling A Little Green

  1. Abby, God has blessed you with a special talent for writing! Please don’t ever stop making time to express your spirit to your readers, thank you very much. Phil

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words, Phil. I appreciate you reading & your encouragement. Have a great weekend! -Abby

    1. I love this story too, Mary! If only we could all live a little more like Paul, huh? Hope you are enjoying being a momma to your precious little one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

