Cheers To 2013

Top of the morning to you all!

I hope you had a great weekend and feel rested up & ready for another week. Can you believe we are about halfway through January already. What in the world?! I feel like we just celebrated the New Year.

Speaking of the New Year, I wanted to use today to reflect on 2012, discuss my excitement for 2013, and set some goals for myself moving forward. I’ve never really been into doing resolutions, because sometimes it seems as though people do them just because you are “supposed to.” I’ve decided to deviate from the norm, and instead come up with 5 areas I am working to improve on.

I always have at least 2 or 3 different plans that I read daily on my Bible App. I have lately been really liking the She Reads Truth series’ {http://shereadstruth.com/}. The writers are women just like you or I, who are actively seeking Christ and using their experiences to grow and teach their readers. Their most current plan is called Fresh Start and the journals walk purposefully through God’s gifts of redemption, reconciliation, and recreation throughout many parts of the Bible.

Each day has been very powerful, but day 7 has stuck out to me the most thus far. The author was talking about the “Moses moments” in our lives. The moments we are asked to believe what we cannot see or walk in a direction where we are uncertain of the end result. It is those moments when we must quiet our hearts and let God fight for our hearts and blanket our lives with His grace and power. After all, He wins. Reading this was a really good reminder for myself to let go, and let God, as I go into this new year. A year where I will be ending graduate school/my time in Columbia most likely, Lord willing landing a job, moving locations, and last but definitely not least, progressing in my relationship with Jordan.

It is going to be a really big year. I could go absolutely crazy trying to control everything myself, but I’ve decided I’d much rather let God guide my life and those transitions. My job is to just be patient, still, and steadfast in prayer through it all.

The last three weeks have been a small piece of the really wonderful 2012 I experienced. The Lord has taken such amazing care of me through the high and low points. He has allowed me to grow through my experiences and learn more about myself, as well as the world around me. I truly feel as though in this past year {latter half of it especially} I flourished as a woman.

I feel more joyful, calm, confident, and hopeful than I ever have. My relationship with my eternal Father has been taken to a much more intimate level. I will always be striving to become the woman God created me to be, but this last year has been an unforgettable one.

I am so optimistic for what Christ has in store for me in 2013 and I fully embrace the transitions I am about to embark on come May. This past year not only helped me grow internally, but my close circle around me has also expanded. I have been blessed with another precious niece and a new, studly nephew. I gained a thoughtful, honest, and intelligent, brother-in-law who loves my sister is such a sweet way.

I am blessed with new friends and mentors who I admire and love spending time with. To say I am thankful I met Jordan would be an understatement. It was through him that I met some of those incredible people. I thank God daily that he kept Jordan around Columbia to pursue his MBA after undergrad, and that I was led to the same city a year and a half ago. I cannot wait to see what this year has in store for us as a couple! I am missing him dearly as he is in Europe traveling. His absence has affirmed to me how much I just love spending time with him. He is my buddy and in 1 week I get to see him again!

So now it is time for me to share with you my list of goals for the new year. I have already started implementing a few of them, and need to start with the others. They may seem simple to you, but I need to improve on those areas. Teach me your ways people! Here goes:

  • Eat breakfast….everyday. I am never hungry in the mornings and all my body is craving is coffee and maybe a piece of fruit. I’ve been told over and over and over again that is not healthy. Just got done eating a {non-toasted} English muffin. I’ve had better, but hey, it’s fuel to my body!
  • Be more consistent and prompt when sending out cards. I am pretty good about thank-you’s, but I want to be more intentional in sending notes for various occasions.
  • Planning meals and actually bringing them in for lunch at work. This would mean making a big batch of something on Sunday’s. I think it would save money in the long run and also I would eat healthier.
  • Consistent and quality quiet time every single day. Night’s seem better than mornings for me, I just need to set aside a longer amount of time and be free of distractions. I can always get better at this.

Well, there you have it! Nothing too difficult or strenuous, but just a few little things that may provide a richer, holistically-healthier lifestyle. I hope your resolutions/goals are still going strong! We can do it together.

Olivia Joy
Olivia Joy
My love
My love

Sarah & Cody
Sarah & Cody
So thankful for our friendship.
So thankful for our friendship.
Charlie
Charlie
Happy New Year!
Happy New Year!

Have a blessed Monday & I’ll see you back here on Thursday.

Let your light shine!

-Abby Dawn

2 thoughts on “Cheers To 2013

  1. Abby,
    thank you so much for your post. I love your honesty and authenticity. Thank you for being an inspiration to me and many other girls.

    1. Thanks, Becca! I read your blog yesterday–SO dang good. Loved. Hopefully I will see you soon, now that you are back 🙂

Leave a Reply

