Banner-makin’ Fun

Good Morning!

I hope you are all having a great week & a wonderful start to 2013. If you are working diligently to maintain your New Year’s resolutions, keep going! You can do it. If you are like me, and choose to set small goals rather than drastic changes, keep taking those baby steps.

I am back to work with plenty to do as we gear up for the Spring Semester. It is really great to see all of my coworkers again and to be back in the office. I am so thankful I was able to take such a long break and come back refreshed. I won’t be a student much longer, so I know these awesome breaks are dwindling.

So I love anything and everything DIY. I would much rather make something than buy it. Not only does it help me save pennies {which definitely helps when you are a grad student} but it is more unique and personalized that way. This past year, I have really been into making my own banners. I have only done a handful, but anticipate making many more in the future.

Banners are a cheap, fun, and easy way to spruce up any space. You can make them for celebrations, your house, or even your office space. You most likely already have the materials laying around your house. Here is what you’ll need:

  • Scrapbook paper
  • Scissors
  • Clothespins
  • Spray paint (optional)
  • Twine or a sturdy string
  • Glue or adhesive of some sort
  • Nails, Tape, or Thumbtacks (which I prefer)

The first few pictures are banners I have made over the last few months. The first one I made for my sister’s bridal shower. Next, is the banner I have hanging above my headboard. This one is more of a photo banner, without letters. I thought it was more fun than picture frames or something traditional like that. The next 3 pictures include the two banners I made for Tim & Lili’s engagement party. It’s a good thing she said “yes”  because I didn’t have “no” made :). It was SUCH a sweet party for two people I am blessed to know.

The remaining photos are from last night, when I decided to make 1 banner for my office and the other for my bedroom {Valentine’s Day inspired}. So go get yourself some materials and let’s begin!

  1. I like to spray paint my clothes pins so that they are more fun than the boring wood color they come in. This is optional of course.
  2. Decide on the size of your triangles. Cut all of those out first.
  3. Trace or eyeball {I didn’t have stencils or a printer so this was my method of choice} letters. Use different scrapbook paper than you used for the triangles to make the letters with. Choose a color that will pop.
  4. Glue the letters to the triangles.
  5. Add any other fun paper, shapes, or decorations to your banner.
  6. Cut enough twine to hang the entire banner with, including some extra on the sides for hanging purposes.
  7. Attach clothes pins to each triangle, with the twine.
  8. Hang & enjoy your creation!

032

016

020

038

015

018

019

017

021

023

024

IMG_20130110_085012

026

028

029

031

I hope this inspires you to do something crafty today! You don’t even have to have an occasion to make these; the occasion can be simply that you feel like creating something with your own hands.

Have a fun and blessed day.

Let your light sine!

-Abby Dawn

4 thoughts on “Banner-makin’ Fun

  1. You should! So easy & you really can’t mess them up 🙂 You are welcome! I think I am going to make a statement necklace soon, so thank you for that idea!

    1. Thank you Kelly! I love my headboard so much–thanks again for giving me that 🙂 Appreciate you reading my blog! Hope you are doing well.

Leave a Reply

