Happy Birthday, Bro

Hello again!

It’s a double dose of me this weekend. As I sit next to my parents warm fire-place with a heat pack around my neck {yes, I am still hurting from my skiing experience}, I felt inspired to write about my brother since it is his birthday today.

As you all know by now, my family is very dear to my heart. Each and every one of them means the world to me. I feel like I’ve talked a lot about my parents, my nieces and nephew, but I haven’t divulged much into the impact my siblings have had on my life. They have all been so good to me, and I feel blessed to have had 3 role models to watch growing up.

My brother turned 28 today and I missed his birthday celebration last night, so I decided I would publicly talk about how awesome he is. He doesn’t have Facebook, so let’s hope his wife shows him this {thanks, Linds}.

AJ is a really good brother, and I am not just saying that because “I have to” or because he is my only brother. I feel kinda bad for the guy. I mean he was born smack dab in the middle of 3 girls. He didn’t have a boy to play with and he was always surrounded by girly things, and so easily got pulled into playing House or School. Pretty sure you could find him playing dolls from time to time [sorry bro].

Growing up, I remember wanting to be like him and my dad. They would walk around down at our land with their shirts off, and I so badly wished I could too. If they could, why couldnt I? I didn’t understand that it was socially unacceptable for girls to go shirtless. There is definitely photo documentation of me hanging out with the boys…without a shirt. Hey, that phase fortunately ended and I turned out okay. I always wear clothes now.

I used to also wish that I could beat him up. I would fight back as long as I could. When he busted out the indian torture, sleeper hold, or threw me over his shoulder, it was game over for me. Looking back, I am kind of thankful he was a little rough on me and taught me to persevere. After all, it was all out of love, right?

Being only 3 years younger than him and closest sibling in age to me, I had the privilege of going to high school with him for one year. He loved it when I would wake him up in the mornings, and then he also loved driving me to school. There may be slight sarcasm in my tone as I write this. Nonetheless, I appreciated that he would drive me, even if he only acknowledge me in the hallways once a week [on a good week]. His friends did, so I still felt special. To his credit, we were only tardy once and that was because he got pulled over for speeding. Not bad.

My most memorable time with my brother happened when I was 8 years old. AJ ignited my walk with the Lord when he answered some tough questions I asked him in regards to eternity and where I would go when I died. I’ll never forget thinking that I so badly wanted to spend eternity in Heaven with the rest of my family. After asking him how I could become saved, he got my dad and I prayed the salvation prayer that night. I am forever thankful for that moment.

Somewhere in his early 20’s, while I was busy doing high school things, AJ grew up immensely. I’m talking like turned 30 over night. He had his priorities in line, was kicking butt in the working world, and was wise beyond his years. He is extremely good at what he does, is an effective communicator, has such an incredible work ethic, and really thinks through decisions.

He landed himself a beautiful and awesome wife. She is the best sister-in-law a girl could ask for. To see the way he loves her, compliments her, and encourages her strengths is endearing. And to see the way she has softened him, made him more thoughtful, and treats him with such love and grace, makes my heart so happy.

They have a marriage I admire and desire to attain. I know I can go to either one of them for honesty and advice. To see the way they nurture my first nephew, Charlie, is incredible. Charlie is a blessed baby.

AJ, thank you for being such a fun, caring, and loving brother to me. You have made a large impact on my life and I admire you in many ways. Whether we are 25 & 28, or 55 & 58, I hope to always have a playful relationship filled with love and honestly.

Now, I am going to eat the last piece of your birthday cake.

171 201

I love you, brother!!

-Abby Dawn

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Bro

  1. Beautiful woman, beautiful soul, beautiful post. We are blessed beyond measure to have you in our lives. Love you!

Leave a Reply

