Home For The Holidays

Good evening!

I apologize for the week-long hiatus I have taken from blog writing. Between finishing up grades, traveling, and optimizing on quality family time, I have not had a chance to write a post.

Can I just say it is absolutely wonderful to be home. My time here has already flown by, but I am so thankful to be able to spend over a week here. I was feeling extremely blessed to arrive safely in the 515 about an hour before the snowstorm hit. And I was LOVING watching the snowfall outside my parents house.

I have missed the snow dearly, and besides the roads being awful, temperatures dropping quickly, and establishments {Caribou} shutting down early, I welcomed the snow with open arms. I feel as though the snow has this magical way of bringing out the inner child in me. I could not help but throw on the random assortment of snow gear we had around the house and play in the snow. Yes, play. As if I was 10 again.

There is something so innocent and free about leaving your phone inside, forgetting about whatever your needed to be working on, and literally throwing yourself into God’s beautiful creation. Sled shopping at 8:30 pm in ugly sweaters, taking a walk through the bike trails around our neighborhood, and sledding today with my family brought out some serious laughter in me.

The fact that my thin-blooded Texas boyfriend was out there bearing the cold weather with me made made me love him even more. Until he started chucking snow balls at my face. Seriously though, we had so much fun together and I am thankful he was able to spend more time up in DeZ MoineZ {as he says it} getting to know my family more.

Acting “like a kid” from time to time  can be so therapeutic and rejuvenating for the soul. Too often I take life too seriously and forget to just enjoy the little things in life and even the beauty surrounding me every single day.

As Jordan and I sit by the delightful fireplace my dad built for us earlier this evening watching Dumb & Dumber, I realize the importance of relaxing and being up for whatever comes your way. Enjoy a few photos from the last few days!

Sorry ladies, he is taken.
Sorry ladies, he is taken.

I challenge you to go do something you typically wouldn’t do. If you are living in a state where snow has fallen, go play in it. If you are somewhere warm, I envy you think you should think about a hobby or a place that brings great joy and laughter to you, and go do that. I promise it will be worth it!

I hope to post again before Christmas, but if I don’t, blessings to you and your loved ones as Christmas quickly approaches. May we all remember the true meaning of Christmas and fill our homes with love, grace, and laughter. Praying for safe travels for everyone!

I will be heading to Dallas next Thursday and then Vail on January 2nd to do some skiing. Definitely taking advantage of the quality family time before then though. Much love to you all!

Let your light shine!

-Abby Dawn

2 thoughts on “Home For The Holidays

  1. So happy you are having such a great time! Your nieces are adorable and it looks like are quite taken with your Texas cowboy. Love to all up there in frozen tundra. : )

  2. Thanks Ramona! I am having such a wonderful time at home. Nothing quite like it 🙂 Sitting by the fireplace right now, and soaking in the few days I have left here. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

