Give the Gift of Your Creations

Hello!

Welcome back for some DIY fun today. I wanted to share my latest obsession with you. Mugs are warm, cozy, last for years, and typically evoke some kind of memory tied to wherever you got your mug from. I have seen “mug-making” on Pinterest for a while now, and finally decided to give it a go myself. They are not perfect, the letters are crooked, and my handwriting is nothing special. However, these are so easy & very fun to make.

Step 1: Purchase or use solid colored, non-decorated mugs. I had a couple white ones that my mom had graciously given me when I was home last. The red ones below, I purchased. You can find them at any Dollar Store or Walmart.

Step 2: Have a few Sharpie’s on hand. I had black & turquoise so I just used what I found laying around.

Step 3: Go preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Step 4: Get those creative juices flowing & start designing. You can’t mess up or do wrong, because after all, the fact that you are doing this yourself instead of just buying one will mean a lot to that person. {I would recommend doing 2 coats of everything}.

Step 5: Place your mug(s) on top of a cookie sheet. Stick it in the oven for 30 minutes. It will be VERY hot when you take it out, so let it cool before touching it.

Step 6: I added this step for the red ones….write your initials and the date on the bottom of the mug before or after you bake it. Just so your gift-receiver will always remember when you gave it to them.

Step 7: Wrap & give to someone special!

Made this one for my friend Becca’s Birthday/Christmas/Because she is so sweet.

20121204_103438

For my man.

Gave these to Phil & Ramona. Included verses from Philippians since that is what we did our Bible study on.

20121206_202733

So if you are looking to do Christmas on a budget this year, or just because you love creating things, I highly recommend making some of these. I thoroughly enjoyed the process and will most likely make some more.

Today is one of the greatest days of the year around our office. As a follow-up to last years popular “chex mix throw down,” we decided to hold our first annual “cookie throw down.” My friend Becca came over last night and assisted me as we made 1) Andes Mint cookies & 2) My mama’s butter cookies with frosting. All of this goes down at 1 pm today and the winner will be based on taste and presentation. Regardless of the outcome, I can’t wait to try everyone’s cookies!!

Something tells me I will need a serious workout today!! Happy mug-making & cookie eating 🙂

Let your light shine!

-Abby Dawn

Leave a Reply

