Weekend Love

Good Morning!

First off, thank you to everyone who completed my survey from last week. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to answer a few questions, your honest comments, and most of all, your encouragement to keep writing meant so much to me. I’m not going to lie, I used to be that person who would avoid doing surveys at all cost because in my head they are a pain, but really they are SO helpful!! So, much love to those who took it {and I still love those of you who didn’t}.

I am thankful to be feeling much better than I did this time last week. Pretty certain I still have a virus lingering inside my body, and possibly even Bronchitis. This cough just will not go away and it seems to be exaggerated at night; so I apologize roomies for keeping you up with my whooping noises during the wee hours of the night. Not cute.

This was a really great weekend for many reasons. Although I wasn’t home much, my laundry is still heaping over my basket, and there are things on the floor of my room {if you know me, you know this is very atypical for me}, I filled the days with much more fulfilling and enjoyable things.

Friday night I kicked off the weekend with some of my favorite people. People who, 1 year ago I had no idea who they were. However, God works in mysterious ways and I feel so blessed to have these sweet friends in my life. All of us “kids” were graciously invited over to our Bible study leaders’ home for a Christmas dinner/celebration. Phil and Ramona have become so much more than just Bible study leaders to me.

They are Godly people with such a huge heart to serve others. Through their joint ministry in serving young adults, such as my Bible study group, to their individual ministries in the kitchen, on the softball field, and everywhere in-between, they have a huge impact on this earth. I appreciate their honesty, prayers, and willingness to meet with any of us at any given time.

We shared a really special time together that evening over some incredible pasta & desserts. My favorite part of the entire evening {besides the heartfelt conversations, gifts of Ramona’s famous treats & Phil’s homemade BBQ sauce} were the affirmations we were sent home with in a little envelope.Writing is so incredibly powerful and to read each note that everyone wrote for me, touched my heart in a way that I rarely feel. Never underestimate the weight a tiny little note can have on somebody.

We wrapped up Friday evening with The Dark Night Rises, which I am proud to say, I stayed awake the entire time!! Jordan was so impressed. I think I gained some serious points in his eyes. {I have a REALLY hard time focusing during movies, but thanks to my cough, I happily stayed awake}.

The joy & thankfulness I felt after Friday night was pretty difficult to top, however the rest of the weekend complimented this evening well. Saturday after I worked for a little bit in the morning, Jordan and I explored downtown Columbia. We have such cute little shops and boutiques which are unique-to-Columbia. We started our afternoon over a cup of coffee & some quality conversations at Kaldi’s coffee. Then we ventured over to get J’s hair cut with our awesome hairstylist, Leslie. I pretty much just love spending time with him, and also watching him interact with people because of his charismatic personality, so accompanying him to this was a no brainer.

Looking much sharper & with some new pomade in hand, we moseyed over Top Ten Wines, where we had a glass of sangria, munched on a cheese plate, watched the Mizzou Men’s basketball game, and got to know the owner and his lady friend. The service was great, setting was comfortable, and they had a ping pong table which is awesome. I’d definitely go back. And did go back that evening briefly.

Satisfied and more knowledgeable about wines, we left and headed to a few shops, including Make Scents, where I created a lovely concoction of Cherry Blossom, Lilac, and Himalaya oils. Smelling better {except for Jordan who was locked out of his house and couldn’t shower…bummer days}, we next went to one of our favorite restaurants in town, Coley’s, to have dinner with Phil & Ramona. We had reached out to them in hopes to talk about our relationship and gain some advice/wisdom as we move forward. They are so awesome and we left feeling so encouraged and blessed.

Sunday was filled with church and the Mizzou football banquet–proud of all the guys for a hard-fought season both on the field and in the classroom. It was fun to see them all dressed up and take a few pictures with my little very large mentees who make my job so fulfilling. Completed the day with a little reading {started The Five Languages of Apology} and then dinner at a friend’s parents house. It was so much fun getting to know them and they were so sweet to open their home to us!

Needless to say, at this point I was looking forward to being home and getting to bed at a decent time. Ended the night with a call to my mama which is always wonderful. She is great.

Well, there ya have it. A detailed account of a great weekend! I am happy to say I am all done with school for the semester, so now we just pray our student-athletes finish up strong. In just 9 days, I will be back in the homeland and could not be more excited!!

I hope you all stay warm this week and have a very blessed rest of your day. At some point this week, I will be posting a DIY tutorial, so keep your eyes pealed for that.

Let your light shine!

-Abby Dawn

Leave a Reply

