A Cure Called Love

Good Evening!

The chills/sweating escapades have subsided, my appetite has returned, and I finally stopped hibernating in my bedroom. I have no idea what I came down with, but it sure came with vengeance and knocked me on my butt. I can’t remember the last time I skipped work for an illness and I am hopeful I won’t have to again for awhile.

It is the times when we are not well, not ourselves, and not immersed in our daily schedules in which we truly realize how blessed we are. From the numerous text messages from family, friends, coworkers, and student-athletes to the emails/Facebook/twitter comments, I was wrapped in love and encouragement to get well. It was so comforting to know that there are people I work with who can cover for me when I am out, and leave me at home with such peace.

And then there was my sweet & thoughtful boyfriend, Jordan. Even while feeling so crappy and looking as miserable as a felt, he loved me through it. There is something about feeling wanted and beautiful even when you are looking your worst which deepens your feelings for that person even more. It didn’t matter that he had never heard of Vicks VapoRub or that he is swamped with finals right now, he stopped what he was doing to get me what I needed and come spend a little time with me.

He brought the chicken noodle soup, sugar-free {non-candy-tasting} sore-throat drops, and Vicks for me. He forced me to drink water when I really didn’t want it, and he just hugged me because that is about all I needed and wanted. Every few hours during the day, he would text me and ask if I needed anything and even though I didn’t, it meant the world to me that he cared enough to ask.

Jordan has such a servant’s heart and Christ-like love for people which I adore and admire so much. Our personalities are vastly different, yet our interests and values align perfectly. Below are just a few of the many things I love about this man…

  • His business-y mind, interest in stocks, and vision for all things my brain doesn’t think about. 
  • How many close friendships he has maintained through all walks of life. He invests in relationships and does not let them fade.
  • His discipline in growing closer to the Lord and becoming a spiritual leader.
  • The way he challenges me and poses questions that cause me to really dig deep into my heart.
  • His guaranteed honesty in all conversations.
  • His willingness to examine his weaknesses, ask me the questions that might be hard to hear the answers to, and then work to improve on those.
  • His engaging & charismatic personality. Throw him in a room with 30 random people, and he’ll love it. I would not.
  • His interests in my interests. Because he cares about me, he also takes the time to ask me about what is going on in my life.
  • His ability to laugh at me and make fun of my clumsiness, without hurting my feelings.
  • The way he encourages me when we workout together, even though I can be a major pain and complain several times through it. {I am working on this}
  • His grace he gives out so freely.
  • Last but definitely not least….his striking good looks.

So to those of you who sent kind words my way, I thank you! I am ready to be back at it and surrounded with such awesome people. And to you Mr. Hawleywood, thank you for just being you & making me feel so unbelievably loved. I feel blessed.

459938_10100348231613490_2019944546_o
Just what I needed!
Man he is handsome.
Man he is handsome.

Time to make some more tea & chug lots of water. Flushing this bug out of my system! Have a great rest of your evening and a wonderful Wednesday.

Let your light shine!

-Abby Dawn

4 thoughts on “A Cure Called Love

  1. Dearest Abby- so glad you are feeling better. I was awake a bit overnite and prayed you would wake feeling stronger. And I am grateful for how well Jordan took care of you. Hope you flushed it all out of your system and can get back to normal. Love you, Susie

  2. Susie- thank you SO much for your prayers, they definitely worked! The fevers have subsided, and besides a sore throat, I am feeling much better. Back at work today and trying to catch up on everything I missed. Love you and miss you.

  3. Abby- I read this, and it nearly made me cry. It may be because I am a hopeless romantic and love hearing love stories, but your sincerity in talking about the things you love about Jordan is precious and endearing. I hope one day to share a love with someone like you and Jordan do 🙂

  4. Nicole-you are so sweet. First of all, thank you so much for even reading my blog and second of all. for your sincere words. The Lord truly blessed me with Jordan, as he will bring some incredible man into your life. Most likely when you least expect it 🙂 See you in a few hours!! Looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

