The Power in Peace

Happy Thursday!

{Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful}.

I don’t know if it just coming off the Thanksgiving holiday, or the fact that Christmas is 26 days away, but I have been thinking about the concept of peace a ton lately. In conversations with people who are struggling with a situation, I find myself asking them, “Do you have peace in your heart about it or restlessness?” Can this concept of peace be enough to lead us in our decision making?

Part of me thinks yes. The word peace is mentioned over 300 times in the Bible (the average of several numbers I came across when researching the exact number). I don’t know about you, but if a word is referenced that many times in any text, let alone the Book I use to guide my life, I’m going to take it seriously. Peace is no joke.

Growing up, I can  think of countless times when my parents asked me if I had peace regarding a particular issue I was struggling with. Looking back, I think it frustrated me when they would say it because, to me, it just sounded like an easy answer. I so badly wanted them to just tell me what to do or give me some sense of guidance. I realize now that they were giving me the best guidance I could ask for, guidance to seek God and really pray for peace in my heart.

So look at me, stealing their lines, and repeating them for others to hear. There have been times in my life, where on paper, you’d think “Well yeah that would have been a great decision for you to make, why didn’t you choose it?” Or even “What took you so long to realize that wasn’t the best for you?” After reflecting on specific examples where those questions may have been posed by others, I can honestly say I just didn’t have peace about it at the time.

In life, there have been and will always be decisions I make that others won’t fully support or understand. However, if I am living for others or for the fear of man instead of Christ, I will make choices based on what other people suggest for me. I really like what Joyce Meyer said about Following Peace to Make Decisions:

If you feel something strongly in your heart, you’ve prayed about it and it goes along with Scripture, then follow your heart. If you feel led to make a decision that others don’t like, you shouldn’t have to give an unreasonable amount of explanation for what you feel led to do.

I am not at all saying not to seek wise counsel from those you trust and respect, because those people are looking out for your best interest and have seen you develop over the years. However, at the end of the day, through prayer and in God’s sovereignty on my life, I need to make decisions led by complete peace in my heart.

Making big decisions are scary. I am in what I like to call a transitional phase, in which, I am temporarily living in this city, temporarily in Graduate School, and interacting with people who unfortunately won’t be in my life forever. In 6 quick months, I will be starting a new job (Lord willing) and moving to a new city. Not being married, I can’t say for certain if Jordan is the person I will marry. I have such peace being with him and know the Lord’s hand is in this relationship, but ultimately God is in control, not me.

So all I can do right now is pray like crazy, seek guidance and peace, and know I will be taken care of. I also need to listen to the discernment of those who love me and want the best for me. I am excited for what is on the horizon and I know 2013 will be a big year for me!

I am going to end this post with a few of my favorite things right now, or what I like to call {November Favorites}:

Dunkin’ Donuts seasonal coffee.
Ribbon hair ties.
Love everything about this cozy look.
Gray nail polish.

I hope you find peace in whatever you are struggling with. Have a wonderful rest of your week & weekend!

Let your light shine!

-Abby Dawn

Leave a Reply

