Here’s To You, Dad

Good Evening!

I hope this post finds you all having a great week! Today has been a busy day, filled with appointments, a luncheon, and meetings. So I apologize for the tardiness of this blog post…once again.

With it being election week, I found myself realizing how little I know about political affairs. During brief conversations with co-workers, student-athletes, peers, or friends, I discovered my ignorance towards such important issues. Being more in-tune and up-to-speed with politics is something I need to work on.

Regardless of the outcome and whether or not your chosen candidate was elected, we can all find hope in a God who ultimately has control over our lives. I sleep in peace knowing I serve a loving, gracious, and sovereign God, not just a President.

In honor of my father who is celebrating his 68th birthday today, I decided to write about fathers [specifically my father] and the impact he has had on my life.

I have heard countless times, whether through my education or conversations with others about the presence/absence of their dads, how big of a role father’s play in the lives of children.Obviously mothers play a vital role in the nurturing and rearing process, so I am by no means discrediting their position in our life, but for the sake of this post, I will be talking about my father.

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go. -Joshua 1:9

Every time I think about this verse, I think of both my earthly father and my heavenly father. I think about my dad’s protection and prayer for my life which enables me the opportunity to flourish on my own and really grow independently from him and my mom. I always know that once I seek them for wise counsel and then make a decision, that they will be supportive and prayerful through that phase of my life.

Reasons why I am thankful for Don Morris…

1. He loves me unconditionally. Whatever mistakes I may make or faults I may have, he reflects the love Christ has for me, by giving me that same grace and love.

2. Every time I seek my dad for advice, he is 100% honest with me. He never sugar-coats anything, and quite frankly, him and I both struggle with “small talk” which is why he gets straight to the heart of the matter. I never wonder what he is really thinking or if he is just trying to tell me what I want to hear. I leave every single conversation with him feeling so much better about whatever I came to him for.

3. My dad fosters my strengths & doesn’t focus on my weaknesses or try to change me. He is a firm believer in encouraging strengths in people, and as a result, they will become more confident in other areas of their lives [even in the weaknesses].

4. I credit him and my mom for helping me form my identity. Their love for me was never circumstantial or teetering. At the end of the day, despite a great performance or less-than-average performance, they loved me for being Abby.  This gave me such high self-esteem in knowing, I am a woman of Christ and have so much potential to exceed in many areas of my life.

5. Disappointing my dad is the worst feeling in the world because I know he is so incredibly proud of me and loves me so much. I realize he is by know means perfect, and has flaws of his own, however to me, he is “the man.”

6. I am thankful to see the way he treats my mom. He is so good to her and really brings out her greatest strengths. Lately, I have seen them get involved in new activities together and really find ministries of their own to strengthen their marriage and also spread the Gospel. Personality wise, they are vastly different; yet they compliment each other beautifully.

7. His interest in my job, schooling, and personal relationships makes me feel extremely valued and important to him.

8. I have so many fond memories of us playing catch in the yard, or shooting hoops on our court. He truly inspired me to pursue athletics and encouraged me through my entire career.

9. I can’t wait to have my dad walk me down the aisle and marry me someday. Although he has had my heart for 24 wonderful years and I look to him for support, he has prepared me in a way so that I will be ready to leave and cleave. It makes me so excited just thinking about  that day.

10. Even though my dad and I don’t talk on the phone much, in fact he may be the only person I know who doesn’t own a cell phone, every time we do, I value it SO much.

Dad, if you are reading, please know how much you mean to me. I only want to make you proud, but I thank you for accepting me and loving me even in my faults. You are one amazing man and you are truly a blessing to everyone you are in contact with. Wish I could be there to celebrate, but I know the family will fill our house with lots of love & laughter.

I love you!!

Table Rock Lake, Summer 2012. Missing Sarah & Cody.

Have a wonderful Thursday evening! It is almost dark already which is such a downer, however I am thankful to be heading to get a workout in. Going to do this one from Iowa Girl Eats blog tonight…

http://iowagirleats.com/workouts/35-minute-3-7-mile-treadmill-workout/

Let your light shine!

-Abby Dawn

Leave a Reply

