Why Yes, I Did Play Softball

Good Morning & Happy November!

I hope you all have had a great week. Keep pushin’ for two more days because the weekend is right around the corner. Woo hoo! I am looking forward to a weekend full of minimal plans, which means lots of relaxing and catching up on much needed sleep.

Although this week, for me, has been jam-packed and extremely busy, it has been a great week. I am so thankful to wake up every morning with energy, motivation, and joy as I go about my day. All of that, however does not come from anything I have done, but rather Christ working in me and through me. With His guidance and provision on my life, I am able to let go of the small annoyances or frustrations that I may face and really focus on the blessings. Don’t get me wrong, I can still do a better job of this.

During a presentation my group was giving in class yesterday about Counseling Women, pressures Women face in our society to look or act a certain way, and also Women in Sport, I was flooded with memories from my softball days. I thought about the magnitude of games and tournaments we competed in, the hours we spent sleeping on charter buses, the trips to Florida, Colorado, Arizona, and so on and so forth.

I also thought about the hilarious moments that only my teammates would remember. For example, when I painted Coach Meyer’s toenails a beautiful shade of pink in the hotel during one of our trips. Or when there was a running tally in our locker room keeping track of the number of times I tripped while running sprints. (I blame it on the tennis shoes).

Growing up, sports were a HUGE part of my life. Sometimes I wonder if I was too involved, or didn’t balance my life out with other activities well enough. However, looking back, I wouldn’t trade it for anything. My memories on the field or court are still so vivid to me. I can specifically recall certain games, what my opponents looked like, or my emotions during that particular game.

Softball enabled me the opportunity to play college athletics at a University that taught me so much, allowed me to meet incredible people, and provided opportunities that I may never have been able to engage in. I was able to build unique relationships with 18+ girls each year, plus coaches, support staff, etc.

Personally, I was able to gain transferable skills in which today, I am still using. Skills like communication, attention to detail, hard work, commitment, and passion will stay with me forever. I have learned the importance of working with people who have different personalities from myself, come from different backgrounds, and are interested in different things. I was able to gain confidence in who I was as a female-athlete, as well as serving as a friend and encourager to my teammates. These are just a few of the things I learned through playing ball.

I find myself becoming slightly defensive and irritable when people doubt that I really played softball merely because of the stereotypes surrounding collegate softball players. No, I was not a dancer or cheerleader, nor did I play golf, tennis, soccer, lacrosse (I got this one the other day), or basketball. I played softball and I will forever love that sport. My identity was never in my sport, however I used the gifts God equipped me to glorify His kingdom, build relationships, and become a well-rounded individual.

Enjoy some photos from my playing days, hanging out with teammates, road trips, and whatever else I included below 🙂 Thank you to all my awesome teammates who made my 4 years of playing ball such a blast. I will never forget the memories or any of you! I am also so thankful for my parents encouragement and support over the years. Not to mention, the countless hours they spent on the bleachers, especially during those frigid-cold games. You guys are the best!

Oh how I miss those days. That chapter of my life is no longer, however I will hang onto them forever. I am a “has-been” now, in fact I can no longer hit the ball over the fence [discovered this during home-run derby this summer]. Very sad day.

Have a wonderful day everyone and I will see you back here on Monday!

Let your light shine!

-Abby Dawn

3 thoughts on “Why Yes, I Did Play Softball

  1. Abby……Awesome……your a tremedous writer……but importantly such as successful person….I miss having you on the team and being able to coach someone like you….you have touched my life also in some many positive ways. I would love to see you return here as a Maverick as you could offer so much to our S-A’s!

  2. Wow, thank you so much for your kind words Coach Meyer! My memories playing ball for you are so rich and I feel blessed to have been one of your student-athletes. I think about you and everyone up in Mankato so often and need to return for a visit this Spring. I hope all is well with you!!

Leave a Reply

