Life’s A Balancing Act

Good Morning!

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend and feel refreshed and ready for not only a new week, but a new MONTH. We are just a few short days away from November which blows my mind. That means we are two months shy of a new year and 7 months away from graduation, finding a job, moving, etc. More reason to seize the present and make the most out of my time here in CoMo.

I had such a great weekend spending time with Jordan and his family. We filled our time with delicious food [Coley’s & Tellers], football game [Mizzou wins!], and great conversations. His parents have such genuine hearts, are servants for the Lord, and truly care for people. I look forward to seeing them again in November and deepening our relationship further.

While thinking about what I wanted to blog about today, I found myself feeling overwhelmed with the amount of things I need to get done this week. No matter how lengthy the to-do lists are, things always get done. This is going to be one of those weeks where I just have to give it all up to Him and trust that it’ll all get accomplished. It only seemed fitting for today’s post that I talk about balancing life and all that entails (thanks for the idea amidst my blog-post uncertainty J.).

How do you perfectly balance & proportion out all facets of your life? This is something I am still trying to figure out. I realize that this current phase of my life is temporary, and that a) I won’t always be a student (hallelujah) and b) I won’t always be a graduate assistant. However, I would still like to have a more holistically-healthy lifestyle.

The saddest part of it all, is that the one place where I need to be spending more of my time, I seem to put on the back burner because I am tired, or “too busy.” That one place is in the Word. I do a fairly good (can do better) job of keeping my focus on the Lord as I go about my day, keeping worship music on in my office, and being in prayer throughout the course of my day, but when it comes to a quality chunk of time where I am immersed in the Word, I am slacking.

How selfish of me to put God in the back seat when He deserves to be captain of the ship. He is the one who put me on this Earth, created me with special gifts which allow me to go about my responsibilities, blessed me with the opportunities I have been given, and ultimately knows exactly what my future looks like. Just typing it out is convicting.

If I were to describe my ideal day, in which I accomplish everything I deem to be important, it would look a little something like this:

  • 6:15 am…Rise & shine (this means setting my alarm at 6 so that I can hit the snooze 3 times)
  • 7:30 am…Be in the office to get a solid 30 minutes of quiet time in. (I am not very good at doing it at home b/c I don’t feel alert enough)
  • 8-5 ish…work, work, work!! (while remembering to take breaks, talk to coworkers, and most importantly, eat lunch)
  • WORKOUT!!! (this whole, only getting a workout in 2-3 times a week is just not cutting it)
  • Evening…depends on the day and if I have class, study hall, or Bible study. If not, then I like to cook a healthy dinner with Jordan and relax a little.

I would absolutely love it if every single day I could get all of those things accomplished. But I am realistic and know that some days it just won’t happen accordingly. The biggest thing for me, and something you all can hold me accountable to, is starting EVERY single morning off with quiet time.

After all, if I am grounded in Christ and fully trusting in His plan for my life, everything else will fall into place.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. -Jeremiah 29:11

You may be able to relate to me, or you may have it all figured out. If you do, please tell me how you do it :). The beauty in it all, is that I can and will get better at this whole balancing life quest.

Thank you for letting me be honest with you all, I greatly appreciate it! I did a very poor job of taking pictures this weekend, so unfortunately I don’t have any with my hair down so that you can see the new “do.” It is a fun change and so much easier to do in the mornings. I will close with a few photos from Trick or Treat night at Grace Bible Church, in which Jordan and I had the privilege of helping out with.

Popeye & Olive Oyl. Thanks for letting us borrow the costumes, AJ and Lindsay 🙂

Have a blessed week & HAPPY HALLOWEEN! 🙂

Let your light shine!

-Abby Dawn

Leave a Reply

