Family Girl

Good Morning!

I hope you all had a great weekend and managed to stay warm despite the cold-front which seemed to come across a good chunk of the country. I felt like I was back in Minnesota with these already freezing temps in early October!

I had a really nice weekend getting to know a couple of Jordan’s friends from back home. I feel blessed to have met Tim and Lili, who drove down from Madison, WI where they are now living, just to spend time with Jordan. We filled the all-to-quick weekend with lots of food, laughter, & fun. Friday night, Jordan and I welcomed them with warm tomato soup and delicious, “gourmet” grilled cheese sandwiches (derived from http://anediblesymphony.blogspot.com/2009/04/tff-fic-grilled-cheese-forever.html). We also enjoyed some awesome Wisconsin beer which they brought down and chatted around the bonfire. It was great to hear stories of Jordan and Tim’s traveling adventures, as well as getting to know these two awesome people.

Wisconsin’s own, Spotted Cow beer.

On Saturday, we gave Tim & Lili a tour of Columbia and the campus which was a lot of fun. I was slightly obsessed with the autumn-colored trees, fallen leaves, and beautiful weather. Lili was so great and made sure to document the day which I most definitely appreciated. We completed the day with some downtown shopping, football game (don’t want to discuss the outcome), and piano bar to round out the fun day.

Tim & Lili during their campus tour!
Keeping each other warm at the game.

Tim and Lili are truly best friends. They have been dating for a continuous 6 years and have made it through the end of their high school years, undergraduate school in Colorado, and even all the way North to Wisconsin. They compliment each other so well and are so dang sweet to one another. I am thankful I was able to spend time with them and I look forward to seeing them again.

This was a big weekend for my family, as we welcomed the first grandson/nephew into the Morris gang. My brother and sister-in-law gave birth to their first child, Charles Riley Morris aka Charlie,  on Saturday evening. From what I have heard, he is just precious and mom & baby are doing great. That little man is going to have some incredible parents. I could not be happier for them & I cannot wait to meet him.

Precious little Charlie

While yesterday I was SO excited to be an aunt all over again, missing birthdays and births are so tough for me. If you only know me decently well, you will know that I am extremely close to my family. I always have been and Lord-willing, always will be. They know me better than anyone else and they encourage and support me when I need it most.

I realize that the easy solution to combating home sickness and the occasional rough days would be to just move back home and find a job there once grad school is ever. However, my heart and the Lord hasn’t shown me that that is where He wants me. In my life, doors opened and opportunities presented themselves in Minnesota and now Missouri which have both been incredible, life-changing experiences for me. I am continuing to put my trust solely in God and I have such a peace knowing he will lead me exactly where He wants me to go on my next journey.

I have no idea where I will be 1 year from today and although that thought is scary for a planner such as myself, it is also exciting. Seeing how much I have enjoyed living in cities outside of Des Moines, and also the personal growth I have experienced while residing in different states gives me hope for another great opportunity.

Being physically absent from my family will never be easy. I say that because I love them so much and so naturally my heart wants to be with them at times. Missing out on gatherings, celebrations, and milestones makes me genuinely sad and is the cause of most difficult days for me. However, I am constantly learning subtle ways to get through this occasional homesickness.

As my nieces and now nephew get older, I am able to hear their voices on the phone and verbally tell them how much I love them. Thanks to Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and blogs, I am able to still see them grow up through pictures. Although at times, I think we rely a little too much on social media, I am very thankful for it. For without it, I’d be missing my family even more.

My closeness and love for my family does not diminish merely because I do not live in the same city as them. We are all still able to exchange encouragement, love, and support through calls, texts, and emails. I have not felt disconnected from them or distant in any way. This gives me confidence knowing that moving forward and potentially moving further away if that is where I’m led, I will be okay. God has always and will continue to provide strength for me while still allowing me to flourish without my family. I am so thankful for this.

My awesome nieces.

I’ve also learned that sadness is okay sometimes. Obviously if it is an ongoing sadness then that becomes a concern, but a day every few months or so to really just feel your heart being sad because of missing loved ones can cause growth. Yesterday I was able to truly realize how thankful I am for my family, praise the Lord for my mama as she celebrated her birthday, and give thanks for a healthy nephew. I also realized that I know deep down that I can make it away from them. I will also be able to remain close. After all, we are meant to leave & cleave, right? I will someday cleave  to a husband and he will become my family away from home.

How cute is she?!

Oh, and if I somehow happen to stay within driving distance to Des Moines, I’d be okay with it 🙂 If not, I’ll be just fine! Thank you Jordan for letting me be sad yesterday and talking it out with me while I processed all of this. You da best!

Such a good encourager & listener.

In honor of my best friend McKenzee’s mother who passed away after battling Breast Cancer when we were 6-years old, and for anyone else who has been affected by this horrible cancer, I have been wearing this bracelet.

October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month

Have a blessed week everyone!! See you on Thursday.

Let your light shine!

-Abby Dawn

4 thoughts on “Family Girl

  1. Abby – It was such a joy getting to know you this past weekend! Thank you for being such a great tour guide, and for generously making us several delicious meals. I really enjoyed my time shopping around downtown with you, and our great conversations. You are beautiful from the inside and out – Jordan is a very lucky guy! 🙂 Thank you for your kind words in this post… you touched my heart, and made my day. I look forward to following your blog regularly, and watching as His great plan unfolds for you. Congratulations again on your baby nephew! I hope to see you again soon! – Lili

  2. You are so sweet!! It was such a pleasure getting to know you two. Hopefully you didn’t mind me blogging about you guys 🙂 I wish we would have had more time to shop & explore. Guess that just means next time we see each other, and wherever we are, that we will do much more of it. I will be praying for you and Tim as he is going through the interview process. Keep in touch and best wishes with everything. -Abby

  3. Love you and your blog! Trust that you are exactly where you are suppose to be…and no matter where that is, you are always an amazing daughter, sister, friend, aunt…. Looks like you had a fun weekend surrounded by some great people. We can’t wait to see you soon!!

    P.S. Spotted Cow is my FAVORITE!

  4. Thank you so much for your kind words, Linds!! I am glad you like reading my blog–sometimes it is hard to tell if people are enjoying it since blogging is primarily one-sided. See you in 11 days (not like I am counting though)! Keep on posting pictures of the little one. Love you!

    -Ab

Leave a Reply

