A Pain In My Abs

Good Morning and Happy October!!

The cool, crisp mornings have arrived and the trees are beginning to change. Enter in scarves, boots, pumpkin-scented candles, soup, and so many more awesome things. I feel like October has the potential to be a really great month and I am looking forward to all the exciting things I have planned. If you had a difficult September, use today as a fresh start and chance to make subtle changes which could change your outlook on life.

Today I decided to do a lighthearted post including a brutal super fun workout, as well as a couple recipes that I made this weekend. I have a love/hate relationship with working out. You would think after years of being told when to lift, practice, do conditioning, etc. that I would enjoy having the freedom to choose when I want to workout and what I want to do. It is quite the opposite actually. I miss having coaches tell me a set time to train, as well as a group of girls holding me accountable for how hard I workout.

My main motivation for working out now is primarily so that I can splurge eat sweets daily (too difficult to only eat 3 per week) and not have to stick to a strict diet. Besides that reason, it also improves my mood b/c of the endorphin’s I am able to release.

So when I need a killer workout, my go-to guy would be Jordan. I know that he will push me, not allow me to complain more than a few times, and most importantly get a quality hour plus workout in.

Big mistake. My body does not know what hit it. My abs (lack thereof) hurt every time I sit up, cough, walk, etc. Why I thought it was a good idea to do a core workout before our main workout with an ex-collegiate swimmer & Olympic trial participant, is beyond me.

I do not even know the names of any of the ab exercises we did. They were not your typical crunches or Russian twists. Oh no, these were hard to even figure out as well as hard to accomplish. After we did a good 15-20 minutes of core exercises, we proceeded with a cardio workout.

Check it out & try implementing this into your workouts this week. If I can do it, so can you!

  • 20 medicine ball throw downs ( I used an 8 lb ball)
  • .10 mile all out sprint on the treadmill (ranged from 9.0-10.0 mph)
  • 20 full sit ups
  • 10 burpees
  • Repeat x 5 (or however  many times you want!)

As exhausting as this workout was, and as sore as I still am, it was worth it and I am very glad I finished it. Thanks for your encouragement babe!

Now for the fun part….FOOD!! Saturday night after dinner, I made an apple crisp which was a recipe my mom sent me. Then on Sunday evening I used a recipe derived from my favorite blog, Iowa Girl Eats (iowagirleats.com). It was basically Chipotle’s burrito bowls, created from my own kitchen.

First, here is the recipe for the Apple Crisp. Thanks Mama!

  • 6 cups apples, peeled and sliced  (6 large)
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
-Grease 8 inch pan, add apples.
-Combine white sugar and cinnamon and mix in to apples.
-Combine flour, brown sugar, butter and vanilla until crumbly.
-Spread over apples.
-350 degrees for 35 – 45 minutes or until apples are tender.

Chop up apples and add the cinnamon-sugar mix.
Enjoy!

I absolutely love warm crisps with ice cream on top, especially during the fall months. I also love Mexican food which is why I wanted to make this next recipe. I will not take credit for this one either, so I have attached the link to the original source so check it out!

http://iowagirleats.com/recipes/?recipe_id=6005711

Her bowl
His bowl. Guacamole is really an eye sore, huh?

This recipe was extremely easy & fun because you can throw whatever you want in there.

I was feeling a little whimsical yesterday, so I decided to put some Christmas lights in my window. Seemed like a fun thing to do.

This is what you call a makeshift window treatment.

I hope maybe this post inspires you to try a new workout, recipe, or add a unique flare to your bedroom. After all, what do you have to lose? Everyone has a little creativity in them.

Let your light shine!

-Abby Dawn

Leave a Reply

