Be Intentional. Be Present. Be Sincere.

Good Morning!

I hope you all have had a great week so far. As I write this post, Mandisa and Toby Mac are starting my day off right with their song, “Good Morning.”  I am convinced that this song instantly puts everyone in a great mood, so check it out if you need a little boost of energy. Thursday, as always, sneaks up on me like crazy. This week is a little different for me as I am leaving on a jet plane to Dallas (Plano, specifically, but everyone just says Dallas) later tonight for a wedding tomorrow with the boyfriend. I am so excited to celebrate  the marriage of his sweet friend, Lindsey and also to meet many new people, AND see my best friend McKenzee!!

While I was sitting in class yesterday studying Freud and his Psychoanalytic Theory, my mind began to think about the importance of focusing on the here and now rather than getting ahead of ourselves in life. I promise I was paying attention  [for the most part]. For me personally, I have to intentionally remind myself to enjoy each day for what it’s worth. I too often start thinking about my future or what happens when May comes around and I am officially done with school, looking for jobs, and most likely relocating AGAIN.The following are just some thoughts I jotted down during  after class.

Be INTENTIONAL

  • Avoid going through the motions.
  • Have at least 1 goal for the day.
  • Seek opportunities which will foster personal growth.
  • Create a space (office, home, etc.) which is warm, welcoming, and inviting for others. This will provide an atmosphere conducive interpersonal communication.

Be PRESENT

  • Listen
  • Ask follow-up questions, not just “uh-huh” or “I see.”
  • At the end of each day, recap everything you did, what you learned, what was difficult for you, and how you can better yourself the next day.
  • Pay attention to people who are struggling.
  • Be aware of your strengths and capitalize on those.

Be SINCERE

  • Do the small things [they don’t go unnoticed].
  • Take advantage of open-doors in conversations to take it a little deeper or to the next level.
  • Say “how are you,” instead of “what’s up?” They mean two completely different things.
  • Remember what people tell you so that you can bring those things up in future conversations. It shows you listened and cared about them.
  • Be empathetic.
  • Be you.

As you all know, time flies by. I challenge you to enjoy today and ultimately this phase of life.  God has you right where he wants you. Even if you don’t love, or even like what you are doing right now, there is a reason you are in that situation. God wants to use you during this time, so don’t let it go to waste. I know that when I am not fully present or if I am allowing my mind to think about the future, I become aloof and mentally absent. Working with people all day, I would be paying them a disservice by not being fully engaged in our conversations.

Speaking of capitalizing on our strengths, I have learned through the StrengthsQuest Assessment that my top 5 are: Harmony, Consistency, Developer, Achiever, and Communication. My mission is to take these and make them even stronger. I also recommend that you all take this assessment at some point because it can teach you so much about yourself and how to work effectively with others.

Have such a great day & weekend everyone!! Thank you for letting me share some thoughts with you.

Let your light shine!

-Abby Dawn

2 thoughts on “Be Intentional. Be Present. Be Sincere.

Leave a Reply

