DIY Tailgating Tee

Good Morning!

I hope this blog post finds you all well rested and coming off of a wonderful and blessed weekend. Why does it always seem as though the weekend absolutely flies by? That time of year has arrived in which I no longer remember the dates of Saturdays, but rather which football game is happening that day. I have always loved college football, especially the Iowa Hawkeyes. When I was growing up, my reasons for enjoying the games were not necessarily for the game itself, but rather it had to do with the sounds of my parent’s wood-burning fireplace, delicious snacks prepared by my mom, or company in which I was surrounded by.

Snap, crackle, pop. I will have one of these in my home someday.

As much as I miss those special times with my family, I now have a new-found appreciation for the game and I credit much of that to my job working with these guys. Knowing them for more than their stats or the number on the jersey has made watching football for me very special. I find it amazing that 18-22 year old men have the ability to impact 80,000 fans and an entire community just by doing what they love. Their hard-work and long hours training give us all the ability to come together with friends, cheer for our favorite team (Go Tigers), and look forward to the work week coming to a halt.

Mizzou wins!!
Miss Lindsay & I at this weekends game vs. ASU

So, whether you are a hard-core football fan or consider yourself more of a social fan, this post is for you. I think we can all agree that what you wear to the game is important. Not important in a materialist, vain, or shallow way; but rather because you want to show pride in your school while maintating your own, unique sense of style. Trust me, I have spent my fair share of money on over-priced gear at the bookstore or local sporting good store. However, after noticing 100 other girls with the exact same shirt on or finding myself only wearing it once or twice, I decided to change my approach to tailgating attire. This new appoach is called DOING IT MYSELF. That way, I know for a fact that nobody else will have the same shirt on.

I wish I could take full credit for this idea, however I cannot. Rather, it was a culmination of seeing various ideas and styles on Pinterest and blogs which helped to jumpstart this new hobby. The first shirt I made was originally a baseball-style tee, so the sleeves were black and the body was gray. I forgot (was not ready) to take pictures of the process so I will just have to show you pictures of the finished product.

Front

As you can see, the back is very uneven and the bow was a quick find in my closet, but you get the gist. The second one I created is actually the black shirt in the photo above. Very similar in the way I cut the top, I just fringed all the way around the bottom to add a fun little flare to a simple tee.

Happy fringing!

I hope this post inspires you to save your money & use what you have to create something nobody else has. I’ll close today’s post with a few fun pictures from yesterday. Sunday’s have always been my favorite & yesterday I was blessed to hangout with the handsome Hawley boys.

Lovin’ them some NFL Sunday.
Margs to top off an excellent weekend!
Always posin’
Cheers to a great upcoming week!

Had dessert from the amazing Coley’s Restaurant on Friday evening which made restricting my sweets intake totally worth it…

YUM

Thanks for reading today’s blog post! Please “reply” if you have any DIY ideas for homemade t-shirts. I’d love to hear ’em!

Late addition to my post after hearing the exciting news that my good friend from high school, Kelsey and her husband Alex gave birth to their first baby girl. I could not be happier for those two individuals & that sweet girl is blessed to have such talented, loving, and fun parents!!

Kelsey & I at her wedding shower. She is such a beautiful mama!

Challenge for the day (thanks for the idea J.Hawley): give 3 compliments today.

I hope you all have a productive & fulfilling week!

Let your light shine!

-Abby Dawn

One thought on “DIY Tailgating Tee

Leave a Reply

